Follow Us on Twitter

Killa Kela - Amplified!

Killa Kela, Amplified!

Review by Jack Foley

IndieLondon Rating: 1 out of 5

AMPLIFIED! is the third studio album from Killa Kela and, sadly, one of the worst albums I can remember listening to in a long time.

It features a host of guests, ranging from Does it Offend You, Yeah? front man James Rushent, who also co-produced The Prodigy’s No.1 album Invaders Must Die, French house master Alan Braxe, Bashy, Hadouken!, Lateef, The Cool Kids and Human League producer Martin Rushent. And that’s naming just a few!

But the diversity reflected in this line-up isn’t reflected in the material itself, which consistently struggles to rise above the utter tosh.

Killa kela did, of course, make a name for himself via his world renowned beatbox skills, which have earned him a place on stage with the likes of Pharrell Williams, Prince, Justin Timberlake, Plan B and De La Soul.

With Amplified!, he has sought to take his finely tuned beatboxing skills and apply them to his singing voice, weaving them in and out of live instrumentation and letting producers dip into the vast sound bank that exists entirely in his head.

In doing so, he has also tried to stay true to his electro, drum ‘n’ bass and hip hop influenced roots and, to be fair, it can be hard to tell whether it’s his beatboxing or drums that are the forceful pounding heart driving each track.

Trouble is, you may also find it hard to care. There are only about three tracks really worth listening to on the mish-mash that ensues.

Former single Everyday is one, making the most of Alan Braxe’s presence to deliver a genuinely catchy slice of Euro disco that’s chart-friendly and hip-shakingly fun.

Situation, featuring Lateef, makes the most of Kela’s hip hop passions, while final track Came With Me opts for a more restrained, moody approach that actually feels like a song.

But tracks like All Killa No Filla, Crouch Touch Pause Engage anmd Get A Rise (in particular), thump away at your subconscious and quickly get on your nerves.

Any goodwill generated by the handful of decent tracks quickly gets lost as the album proceeds to bang away at your senses with one soulless sonic assault after another.

And really, that’s all there is to say.

Download picks: Came With Me, Situation, Everyday

Track listing:

  1. Built Like An Amplifier
  2. All Killa No Filla
  3. Crouch Touch Pause Engage
  4. Everyday
  5. This One’s Dynamite
  6. She’s Sweet
  7. Situation
  8. Cards And Cheques
  9. Get A Rise
  10. Couple Of Wasters
  11. Came With Me