Follow Us on Twitter

Kitsune Maison Compilation: Volume 3

Kitsune Maison Compilation: Volume 3

Review by Jack Foley

IndieLondon Rating: 2 out of 5

THE third in the series of the acclaimed Kitsune Maison Compilations finds French label Kitsune, which has been home to everyone from Hot Chip to VHS or Beta, putting forth another pulsating collection of electro-punk tracks from some of the emerging acts of the moment.

Whether it’s Van She remixing labelmates The Klaxons or the accelerated and sometimes ridiculous sounding flutes and harps of Oh No! Oh My!, the intention here is to party loud and hard, whilst appealing firmly to the house circuit.

It’s a heady mix album that boasts some genuinely good bands mixed up and spliced with all manner of dirty dance beats, scuzzy synth breakdowns and bleeps and/or whistles. Sometimes inspired, it can also become a hugely tiresome affair for anyone who can’t get their heads around the electro-punk scene.

Of the good stuff, the Soulwax Nite Version of Gossip’s Standing In The Way Of Control is a genuine crowd-pleaser that fuses some fast and furious beats with the sound of Sonic Youth.

While Simian Mobile Disco’s I Believe sets things in motion in confident fashion and effortlessly lends itself to packing out the dancefloor.

But all too often the tracks are a little too firmly rooted in electro-punk territory and either sound too metallic or retro. There’s a distinctly ’80s vibe surrounding some offerings, such as Galactic Lover and Dead Disco’s The Treatment.

There will be a certain sense of cool attached to owning the album, particularly as its the third in a successful series, but for the most part it’s a tedious listen that won’t convert any new fans to the electro-punk genre. There are far better dance compilations just waiting to be discovered.

Oh, by the way, did you know that kitsune means “fox” in Japanese? Just thought you might like to know…

Track listing:

  1. I Believe – Simian Mobile Disco
  2. Frantic – The Lovely Feathers
  3. Trash – The Whip
  4. Youth Alcoholic – Fox n’ Wolf
  5. Gravity’s Rainbow – Klaxons [Van She Remix]
  6. Home Wit U – Freeform Five
  7. Feel Good (TV=Off) – Boys Noize
  8. Standing In The Way Of Control – Gossip [Soulwax Nite Version]
  9. Motorcycle – Alex Gopher [Wet Clutch Short Edit]
  10. Galactic Lover – The World Domination
  11. The Treatment – Dead Disco [Metronomy Remix]
  12. Kafka! – The Valentinos [Bag Raiders How’d Ya Like At Five Remix]
  13. I Love You All The Time – Oh No! Oh My!
  14. Done With You – The Whitest Boy Alive
  15. Zdarlight – Digitalism [Paranoid Asteroid Mix]