Follow Us on Twitter

Lana Del Rey, Jay-Z and Beyoncé head all-star Great Gatsby soundtrack

The Great Gatsby

Story by Jack Foley

AN all-star musical line-up has been revealed for the soundtrack to Baz Luhrmann’s eagerly anticipated adaptation of The Great Gatsby.

Writer/producer/director Luhrmann joined collaborators Shawn “JAY Z” Carter, an executive producer on the film, and Anton Monsted, its executive music supervisor, in announcing the track-listing.

Drawing on his unique and unrivalled position in popular culture, Jay-Z (with collaborator and the film’s executive music consultant Jeymes Samuel) has worked with Luhrmann and his team on the project over the past two years, translating the Jazz Age sensibility of F. Scott Fitzgerald’s novel into the musical equivalents of our own times, through the blending of hip-hop, traditional jazz and other contemporary musical textures.

Luhrmann stated: “F. Scott Fitzgerald’s novel is peppered with contemporary music references specific to the story’s setting of 1922. While we acknowledge, as Fitzgerald phrased it, ‘the Jazz Age,’ and this is the period represented on screen, we – our audience – are living in the ‘hip-hop age’ and want our viewers to feel the impact of modern-day music the way Fitzgerald did for the readers of his novel at the time of its publication.”

JAY Z’s own No Church In The Wild, which he was recording when he and Luhrmann first came together, is included in the film, along with his original 100$ Bill.

Other original material specifically made for the film will be the hauntingly melodious track Young and Beautiful, from recent Brit Award winner for Best International Female Solo Artist, Lana Del Rey. Del Rey collaborated with Luhrmann in creating the song.

Del Rey commented: “It was an honour to work with Baz Lurhmann on his amazing adaptation of one of the most extraordinary books ever written. The movie is highly glamorous and exciting; Rick Nowels and I were thrilled to write the song for the film.”

Luhrmann also worked personally alongside good friends and collaborators Florence Welch, of Florence + The Machine, and The xx. Each of the artists worked to picture.

The highly eclectic soundtrack also features songs performed by such artists as Beyoncé x André 3000; Fergie + Q Tip + GoonRock; Coco O. of Quadron, Gotye; Nero; and Sia.

Moviegoers will also recognize a few favorites with a new twist, such as Jack White’s interpretation of U2’s Love Is Blindness, Beyoncé x André 3000 collaborating on Amy Winehouse’s Back to Black, and Bryan Ferry’s new take on a couple of classics: his own Love Is The Drug and, with Emeli Sandé, Beyoncé’s Crazy In Love.

New songs by Florence + The Machine, Lana Del Rey, Nero, and The xx were written for scenes in the film, and appear on the soundtrack.

A new trailer for the film was released by Warner Bros. Pictures this week and features the songs Back To Black, from Beyoncé x André 3000; Young And Beautiful from Lana Del Rey and Over The Love, from Florence + The Machine. You can watch the trailer here

The score is composed by Luhrmann’s regular collaborator, Craig Armstrong, who worked with the director on Moulin Rouge! and William Shakespeare’s Romeo + Juliet.

Internationally, the soundtrack will be released in physical, digital, deluxe and standard formats on May 6, 2013. Both the standard album and the deluxe edition will be released worldwide by Interscope Records.

Track listing:

  1. 100$ Bill – JAY Z
  2. Back To Black – Beyoncé x André 3000
  3. Bang Bang –
  4. A Little Party Never Killed Nobody (All We Got) – Fergie + Q Tip + GoonRock
  5. Young And Beautiful – Lana Del Rey
  6. Love Is The Drug – Bryan Ferry with The Bryan Ferry Orchestra
  7. Over The Love – Florence + The Machine
  8. Where The Wind Blows – Coco O. of Quadron
  9. Crazy in Love – Emeli Sandé and The Bryan Ferry Orchestra
  10. Together – The xx
  11. Hearts A Mess – Gotye
  12. Love Is Blindness – Jack White
  13. Into The Past – Nero
  14. Kill and Run – Sia

The deluxe soundtrack will feature the above songs, plus three additional bonus tracks.