Follow Us on Twitter

Laura Veirs announces new single and tour dates

Laura Veirs

Story by Jack Foley

LAURA Veirs is to release her new single, Secret Someones on February 20, 2006, through Nonesuch Records.

The track is the second single to be taken from Veirs’ new album, Year Of Meteors, which was released to widespread critical acclaim in August last year.

The single release includes the previously unavailable track Heart Of 17 and will also be backed by a UK tour.

With her band The Tortured Souls, singer/songwriter/guitarist Laura Veirs recorded Year Of Meteors in Seattle in February 2005.

She describes the album as “a road record,” drawing inspiration from being in constant motion for much of 2004, when she toured in support of the critically acclaimed album Carbon Glacier (2004).

Produced by Tortured Soul band member, Tucker Martine, Year Of Meteors’ lyrics include dream-like images of sky and sea, punctuated by guitar bursts, handclaps and melodic keyboards and strings.

In addition to Martine’s percussion and “beats” the album features Steve Moore (piano, organs), Karl Blau (bass, guitar, vocals), and Eyvind Kang (viola).

Year Of Meteors was included in the Sunday Times’ list of ‘Records of the Year’ and was proclaimed by MOJO as ‘Veirs’ most musically vertiginous outing to date,’ while Q described it as ‘excellent’.

Hear tracks from the album

A Seattle resident by way of Colorado, Veirs’ background in geology and kinship with the rugged landscape meld together with her punk performing roots to form an unusual musical outlook.

The full UK tour dates are as follows…

Feb 13 – Edinburgh, Cabaret Voltaire
Feb 14 – Liverpool, Academy 2
Feb 15 – Bedford, The Shed
Feb 16 – Bristol, Fleece
Feb 18 – Leicester, The Charlotte
Feb 19 – Birmingham, Glee Club