Follow Us on Twitter

Lenny Kravitz - It Is Time For A Love Revolution

Lenny Kravitz

Review by Jack Foley

IndieLondon Rating: 3.5 out of 5

THE first new album from Lenny Kravitz in over three years It Is Time For A Love Revolution is a thunderous rock ‘n roll call-to-arms, featuring a universal blend of soul, funk and jazz grooves and the undeniable anthemic lyricism that’s been his trademark from day one.

What this basically means is that Kravitz fans will be in seventh heaven, revelling in the retro sensibilities of an artist who has previously been responsible for hits such as Are You Gonna Go My Way and American Woman.

Featuring 14 new songs, the new album once again finds the multi-instrumentalist writing, producing, arranging and playing all the tracks on the album, as he has done on all of his releases throughout his career.

Thematically, it finds Kravitz singing songs of love and spiritual revolution, and calling on people to open up and let love back into their hearts. He also isn’t afraid to get political, using his music to draw attention to the current US war in Iraq as well as the Vietnam era.

Classic rock connoisseurs will doubtless enjoy picking out the references, which range from Bowie and Led Zeppelin to Eric Clapton and The Rolling Stones. The trademark psychedelia is still present, as is the flower power lyricism. And why shouldn’t we have an album that’s more interested in celebrating what’s right with the world, rather than concentrating on what’s wrong with it?

It Is Time For A Love Revolution may not be Kravitz’s best album, but it’s a damn fine listen; a guilty pleasure of sorts that sets about its business in robust, unapologetic fashion and delivers more than its fair share of highs.

Album opener Love Revolution establishes the template with a crunching central guitar riff, some handclap beats and those trademark vocals backing the call for a passion-fuelled revolt, while Bring It On is vintage Kravitz – a hard rocking, no-nonsense crowd-pleaser that sound checks Zeppelin and Hendrix in guitar terms, whilst delivering an inspiring set of vocals.

Good Morning then injects some sweeping, swirling strings into the mix and enchants with its beauty, while Love Love Love flirts outrageously with the style of Red Hot Chili Peppers whilst entertaining you in just as energetic fashion.

If You Want It drops a fantastically lazy central guitar riff that sets up another little gem, before romantics are rewarded for their patience with the achingly reflective I’ll Be Waiting – a song that notably lays off the guitars in favour of piano and strings.

Further highlights come in the form of the funky, even James Brown influenced Will You Marry Me, the moody, bluesy I Love The Rain, the hip, Rolling Stones-influenced Dancin’ Til Dawn, the politically insightful Back In Vietnam and album closer I Want To Go Home.

There are the odd songs that don’t quite cut it, such as the lovelorn A New Door, and the similarly sentimental A Long And Sad Goodybe, but all in all this is a great album for rock ‘n’ roll enthusiasts that marks a very welcome return from Kravitz. It’s well worth joining his revolution.

Download picks: Brignt It On, Good Morning, If You Want It, Dancin’ Til Dawn, Will You Marry Me, I Love The Rain, Back In Vietnam

Track listing:

  1. Love Revolution
  2. Bring It On
  3. Good Morning
  4. Love Love Love
  5. If You Want It
  6. I’ll Be Waiting
  7. Will You Marry Me
  8. I Love The Rain
  9. Long And Sad Goodbye
  10. Dancin’ Til Dawn
  11. This Moment Is All There Is
  12. New Door
  13. Back In Vietnam
  14. I Want To Go Home