Follow Us on Twitter

Linkin Park to release rarities album

Linkin Park

Story by Jack Foley

TWO-time Grammy winning rock band Linkin Park have announced a December 3 release date for LPU9: DEMOS, a special rarities album available with a membership to the band’s fan club, the Linkin Park Underground.

The album and membership package can be purchased together at and includes a T-shirt, patch and other exclusive merchandise items.

LPU9: DEMOS features nine unreleased demo versions of some of the band’s biggest hits, including Faint, Breaking The Habit and Leave Out All The Rest.

Also included is Across The Line, a previously unreleased song recorded during the Minutes To Midnight studio sessions.

Fans also get Morning After (acoustic), from frontman Chester Bennington’s side project, Dead By Sunrise (as an exclusive download).

Says Linkin Park vocalist Mike Shinoda: “Songs change constantly over the course of the creative process, so we thought it’d be cool to share early versions of familiar tracks.

“The versions in this collection represent important moments in the evolution of each song: different vocals, music variations, and missing parts. They’re snapshots of our works-in-progress.”

Since its formation in 2001, the LPU’s reach has extended worldwide to form a tight global community. The band has maintained a strong direct bond throughout, and every year they design special merchandise and release music exclusively to LPU members.

Fans first heard the new song, Across The Line, during online video episodes (“LPTV”).

Originally entitled Japan, fans sought out the song for years, but the band had never released it. In response to fan feedback, the band decided to finish the song and make it available as a highlight of LPU9.

“The LPU is a movement,” says guitarist Brad Delson. “Their support of the band is inspiring. So we try to give back to them whenever we can. When we heard that they had been talking about Across The Line, we knew we had to make it available for them.”