Follow Us on Twitter

Little Man Tate - About What You Know

Little Man Tate, About What You Know

Review by Jack Foley

IndieLondon Rating: 4.5 out of 5

FOLLOWING hot on the heels of The View’s debut album, Little Man Tate’s About What You Know could well be the second great guitar album of 2007.

It’s a short and lively affair that boasts some cracking songs and a really endearing attitude to all things love-related.

Little Man Tate, for the record, are a Yorkshire four-piece comprised of Jon Windle (vocals), Maz (guitar), Ben Surtees (bass) and Dan Fields (drums). They only formed 18 months ago but have since secured a record deal and enjoyed three top 40 singles.

The debut album continues to build on their reputation as one of Britain’s most talented young guitar bands.

Songs ooze heart and soul as well as clever and amusing lyrics that are born out of real-life experiences.

Just listen to former singles Man I Hate Your Band, Sexy In Latin or House Party At Boothy’s as examples of what to expect – frothy indie-pop songs that are positively brimming with infectious hooks, melodies and feelgood values.

But every track registers in some way. This Must Be Love, for example, is a brutally honest, yet utterly amusing look at an unlikely love affair about a boy and girl who meet again years after first sharing a relationship.

The sparky lyrics include such gems as “don’t get me wrong, you weren’t the first girl I ever kissed with tongues, but you were the best, you let me touch your chest”.

It’s the same core values that apply to Man I Hate Your Band and current single Sexy In Latin – effervescent melodies and catchy lyrics that you can’t wait to sing along with. But then there’s just something about this band that’s utterly uncomplicated and totally loveable.

Further tracks to look out for include the charming European Lover, with its punchy hooks and heartfelt delivery, the boisterous 3 Day Rule with its vocal harmonising and spot-on parody of dating game rules, and Down On Marie, a breakneck final salvo that sets things up perfectly for the sophomore record.

Yep, Little Man Tate can rightly lay claim to being Yorkshire’s finest and About What You Know is a terrific opening chapter.

Download picks: Man I Hate Your Band, This Must Be Love, Sexy In Latin, European Lover.

Track listing:

  1. Man I Hate Your Band
  2. European Lover
  3. Sexy In Latin
  4. This Must Be Love
  5. House Party At Boothy’s
  6. Who Invented These Lists?
  7. Court Report
  8. Little Big Man
  9. 3 Day Rule
  10. This Girl Isn’t My Girlfriend
  11. Down On Marie

  1. Nice review, and you managed to do without those two dreaded words as well :p

    Daniel Lowndes    Feb 4    #