Follow Us on Twitter

Little Man Tate - Nothing Worth Having Comes Easy

Little Man Tate, Nothing Worth Having Comes Easy

Review by Jack Foley

IndieLondon Rating: 4 out of 5

THE name of Little Man Tate’s boisterous sophomore effort, Nothing Worth Having Comes Easy could easily serve as a metaphor for their own career. The thing worth having being success; the journey towards it less than easy.

Having released their debut album About What You Know to widespread acclaim in January 2007, the Sheffield outfit were somewhat surprised to be surprisingly dropped by their label, V2, as part of the music industry’s major label cull.

Feeling justifiably cheated and angered by the treatment doled out to them, the band regrouped and, determined to prove the money men wrong, they headed to Sheffield’s celebrated 2Fly Studios to start work on the new album.

The result is a collection of songs that stays true to the formula they established first time out, albeit with a slightly darker edge and a growing sense of maturity.

In short, it’s a cracking little guitar album that further sets them apart musically from Sheffield neighbours Arctic Monkeys – even though vocally the similarities remain the same.

Songs to savour include the melodic Joined By An Ipod, which laments the MP3 culture whereby everyone seems to exist with something plugged into their ears, and most recent single Hey Little Sweetie, which cuts a cheeky swagger and laments the sexual antics of a naughty, naughty, naughty little girl.

The album’s lead single What Your Boyfriend Said is another fast and furious guitar anthem that positively zips along with unbridled energy and enthusiasm, while album opener Money Wheel announces their return in confident fashion and demonstrates just how good they are at conjuring a memorable guitar riff or three.

She Looks Like Audrey Hepburn is lyrically fun and evident of the humour that marked their first album at its best, while Little Heart offers further evidence of their hopelessly catchy hooks and melodies.

Occasionally, the songs adopt a somewhat lazier chant-along quality a la Kaiser Chiefs, such as Back Of The Pub Quiz, but they usually manage to bring it back with songs such as London Skies London Eyes, which virtually strip away the guitars and adopt an almost a capella approach. It’s an eye-catching song that speaks volumes about the ambition in their songwriting.

Let’s just hope that the record buying public recognises this quality and supports them to prevent any more label disappointments. They are a cracking British band with plenty to say.

Download picks: Money Wheel, She Looks Like Audrey Hepburn, Hey Little Sweetie, Joined By An Ipod, London Skies London Eyes

Track listing:

  1. Money Wheel
  2. What Your Boyfriend Said
  3. She Looks Like Audrey Hepburn
  4. Shot At Politics
  5. Hey Little Sweetie
  6. Joined By An Ipod
  7. Face On A Wall
  8. Little Heart
  9. Time For Anything
  10. Back Of The Pub Quiz
  11. London Skies London Eyes
  12. Shoulder To Sigh On
  13. Last Hurrah [bonus track]