Follow Us on Twitter

London Grammar and John Newman lead Ivor Novello nominees (2014)

Story by Jack Foley

LONDON Grammar and John Newman are in the running for this year’s prestigious Ivor Novello songwriting award.

The former’s track Strong has been shortlisted, while Newman has been nominated for Love Me Again.

They’re joined on the shortlist by London-based band Palma Violets (for Best of Friends).

Other nominees in other categories include last year’s Mercury Award winner James Blake, who is recognised for best contemporary song for Retrograde along with Kemosabe by Everything Everything and Latch by Disclosure featuring Sam Smith.

In the best album category, Arctic Monkeys are nominated for their Mercury Award winning LP AM and will be looking to replicate their success from 2007, when they also won for Whatever People Say I’m Not, That’s What I Am.

However, they face competition from Nick Cave and The Bad Seeds for Push The Sky Away and Laura Mvula for Sing to the Moon.

Commenting on the nominations, Simon Darlow of the British Academy of Songwriters, Composers and Authors (Basca), said: “The Ivors nominations clearly reflect the health of British songwriting and composing, highlighting the wealth of creative talent the UK possesses.

“Basca is delighted that The Ivors continue to be the award songwriters and composers want to win, and I congratulate everyone represented here today.”

The annual Ivor Novello awards are now in their 59th year and seek to celebrate songwriting and composing. They are voted for by songwriters and will be presented at a ceremony in London on May 22.

Among the composing awards are the films Gravity, Captain Phillips and The Epic of Everest, which were shortlisted for their composers for the best original film score, while TV series Mr Selfridge, Ripper Street and The Thirteenth Tale were nominated for best television soundtrack.

The nominees at a glance…

Best song musically and lyrically
Best of Friends – Palma Violets
Love Me Again – John Newman
Strong- London Grammar

Best contemporary song
Kemosabe – Everything Everything
Latch – Disclosure featuring Sam Smith
Retrograde – James Blake

Best album
AM – Arctic Monkeys
Push the Sky Away – Nick Cave and The Bad Seeds
Sing to the Moon – Laura Mvula

PRS for Music most performed work
Clown – Emeli Sande
Let Her Go – Passenger
Troublemaker – Olly Murs featuring Flo Rida

Best original film score
Captain Phillips – Henry Jackman
Gravity – Steven Price
The Epic of Everest – Simon Fisher Turner

Best television soundtrack
Mr Selfridge – Charlie Mole
Ripper Street – Dominik Scherrer
The Thirteenth Tale – Benjamin Wallfisch