Follow Us on Twitter

Louie Vega presents Luisito Quintero Percussion Madness

Louie Vega presents Luisito Quintero Percussion Madness

Review by Jack Foley

IndieLondon Rating: 4 out of 5

WHEN Luisito Quintero recorded Percussion Madness – which was produced by DJ, band-leader, producer and Grammy-winning remixer Louie Vega – he included tributes to deceased heroes such as Fela Kuti and Tito Puente, plus his own version of Ray Barretto’s classic Acid.

Hence, the album offers a veritable treasure trove of treats for percussion fans that encompasses everything from Afrobeat and Bossa Nova to Latin Jazz.

What’s more, he’s done it by enlisting the help of some superlative guest musicians, from pianist Hilton Ruiz, to flautist Nestor Torres, right down to respected NY House outfit, Blaze.

The result is an album that offers a globe-trotting extravaganza of styles – some of which genuinely impress, others that might be a little too annoying for some tastes.

It’s definitely an album for broad minds in that fans of the mainstream will probably be scratching their heads in bewilderment.

But there are times when it’s an absolute pleasure to listen to some of the percussion madness on show.

Our Love, for example, lays down a really sultry set of vocals from Anane that perfectly accompany the easy-going rhythms and infectious percussions.

The livewire and playful piano of Hilton Ruiz enlivens the outrageous carnival-style energy of Quintero’s Jam which perfectly encapsulates the sound of a group of musicians having the utmost fun (especially during Hilton’s extravagant solos and the blasts of trumpet throughout).

While the aforementioned Acid offers a veritable goldmine of Latin-infused jazz that’s guaranteed to get those feet tapping, those hips swinging and those sexy moves shimmying across the dancefloor.

Hot, too, are the bongo-based percussions of Four Beat Mambo.

At its absolute best, the album succeeds in transporting you to a different continent, where the music is all about passion and life is celebrated to the max.

Forget the bland, repetitive sounds of Ibiza for a moment and expand your horizons to different musical cultures – you can’t fail to be impressed.

Track listing:

  1. Percussion Madness
  2. M’Bongi
  3. Gbagada Gbagada Gbogodo Gbogodo
  4. Aquilas Coisas Todas
  5. Our Love – Quintero, Luisito & Anane
  6. Quintero’s Jam – Quintero, Luisito & Hilton Ruiz
  7. Acid
  8. Four Beat Mambo
  9. Oshagrina
  10. Love Remains The Same – Quintero, Luisito & Blaze