Follow Us on Twitter

Lucie Silvas - Same Side

Lucie Silvas, Same Side

Review by Jack Foley

IndieLondon Rating: 3.5 out of 5

LUCIE Silvas looks to follow up the massive success of her debut album Breathe In with the fuller sound of sophomore record Same Side.

Teaming up with Danton Supple – who produced Coldplay’s X&Y – Silvas has opted for a more upbeat approach to her sound, employing some bolder melodies and proving much less reliant on slow-building piano numbers.

Her powerhouse vocals are also more dominant and it seems that the artist has been buoyed by the acclaim surrounding her debut material.

“I knew what I wanted with this album,” she explains in the PR. “I just wanted to sing, play my piano and have a sound that’s authentic. No programming or artificial sounds of the moment.”

Same Side draws from a wealth of inspiration to hone its sound, from Dusty Springfield and The Carpenters to The Beatles and Paul Simon. Yet it’s also less interested in proving the range of its singer’s talents.

“Songs like Place To Hide and Trying Not To Lose are vocally more mellow,” she says. “It’s almost like I’ve stopped reflecting what’s around me.”

Ironically, the aforementioned Place To Hide is one of the least impressive tracks on the album. It’s a slow-building, over earnest, piano-heavy ballad that comfortably caters for the Radio 2 brigade but seems to lack any real passion when compared with some of the better ballads being delivered at the moment.

Likewise, Almost, which harks back to the same style that was overly prevelant on Breathe In.

In fact, Silvas is far more successful when keeping things upbeat and employing some fetching melodies, such as the strident guitar sound of Sinking In which builds towards a breezy chorus and a reflective quality that wouldn’t sound out of place on the soundtrack to an American show like Grey’s Anatomy.

Title track Same Side also mixes the piano chords with the guitars to more gutsy effect, Silvas’ striking vocals sound more assertive than on some of the more deliberately slower material.

While there’s a simple innocence surrounding the pleasant vibe on Trying Not To Lose, which is reminiscent of both Karen Carpenter and Katie Melua vocally. The foot-stomping shuffle of Alone, meanwhile, mixes elements of KT Tunstall with the epic sweep of artists like Sheryl Crowe or The Corrs singers.

In many ways, Same Side is a much better album than Breathe In. It’s more confident, richer in diversity and a great deal more lively. There are fewer Dido-esque ballads and a much greater sense of vibrancy.

If you liked her debut, then you’re sure to be impressed with this progression that marks a surprising triumph for the talented singer-songwriter.

Track listing:

  1. Last Year
  2. Sinking In
  3. The Same Side
  4. Trying Not To Lose
  5. Something About You
  6. Place To Hide
  7. Almost
  8. Right Here
  9. Counting
  10. Already Gone
  11. Alone
  12. Passionate You
  13. Passionate You / Stolen
  14. Stolen