Follow Us on Twitter

Madonna - Confessions on a Dancefloor

Madonna, Confessions on a Dancefloor

Review by Jack Foley

IndieLondon Rating: 3 out of 5

MADONNA’S Confessions On A Dancefloor is, by her own admission (and desire), a non-stop, all-dance tour de force.

It is built around a lot of samples, is both retro focused and forward looking and, in terms of quality, is as good as it is bad.

The template is set from the outset with recent single and album opener, Hung Up, a fast and furious dance number that features a sample of the classic Gimme Gimme Gimme by ABBA albeit set against some modern dance production values.

It will undoubtedly get people dancing but it feels something of a lazy effort from the Queen of Pop, especially since she built a career out of being an innovator.

The rest of the album follows along in similarly hit-and-miss fashion, flirting with several mainstream dance styles from disco chic to Ibiza style club-fillers.

Get Together, for instance, is set against the sort of electronic rhythms that the likes of Oakenfold and Roger Sanchez might like to call their own – yet it somehow works within the context of the album and owes a lot to the striking quality of Madonna’s vocals.

Sorry is imbued with some sexy French qualities before hitting a disco swagger that makes it extremely catchy – and a certain bet for chart success when it is released as a single.

While that 70s nostalgia is evident again on the bedding sample to Future Lovers, a souped up floor-filler that teases, tantalises and then finally unleashes a crowd-pleaser that Kylie would be proud of.

The album is at its best when throwing off the shackles of the mainstream pop-cheese and hitting some harder dance grooves, such as in the fantastically edgy I Love New York, which includes a driving bassline and some typically feisty lyrics.

Let It Will Be is a similarly classy performer, set against some epic strings and some quality beats.

While Isaac, featuring some Eastern-influenced vocals from Yitzhak Sinwani, is a darker effort that builds to an epic high (hinting at some of her earlier work such as Frozen).

The absolute highlight, however, is the fantastically emotive Push, which conjures up a scintillating beat and throws in some more nods to Madge’s back catalogue. It helps draw the album to a genuinely satisfying and invigorating close.

Elsewhere, there is still plenty to admire and enjoy, especially if you’re looking for a good party album this Christmas.

I have to confess that after hearing and disliking Hung Up I thought Madonna’s latest may be a flat affair.

But it does reach some great highs that make it another strong piece of work for the iconic artist – just some way short of her absolute best.

Track listing:
1. Hung Up
2. Get Together
3. Sorry
4. Future Lovers
5. I Love New York
6. Let It Will Be
7. Forbidden Love
8. Jump
9. How High
10. Isaac
11. Push
12. Like It Or Not

  1. Not sure which Madonna album you were listening to. This is by far and away her best effort for ages. Much better than the awful American Life. More of the same please, Madge!

    Sarah J    Dec 18    #