Follow Us on Twitter

Manic Street Preachers announce massive UK tour (2010)

Manic Street Preachers

Story by Jack Foley

FOLLOWING 2009’s cathartic Journal For Plague Lovers, the Manic Street Preachers have announced details of their tenth studio album, as well as a massive UK tour.

Postcards From A Young Man will be released in September and is being billed as a return to the classic rock roots of Send Away The Tigers and the arena sized choruses of Everything Must Go.

The band is currently adding finishing touches to the record with producer Dave Eringa at their Cardiff studio. Mixing will take place later this month with Chris Lord Alge in America.

To coincide with the release the band will undertake their most extensive UK tour ever, with support from British Sea Power.

The 23-date tour kicks off in Glasgow in September before concluding in Cambridge in November. It includes two nights at London’s Brixton Academy in October.

The tour dates are (all 2010):

29 – Glasgow Academy
30 – Aberdeen Music Hall

2 – Edinburgh, Corn Exchange
3 – Carlisle Sands Centre
5 – Hull City Hall
6 – Sheffield, O2 Academy
8 – Liverpool University
9 – Blackburn, King George’s Hall
11 – Leeds, O2 Academy
12 – Derby, Assembly Rooms
14 – Manchester, Apollo
16 – Lincoln, Engine Shed
17 – Norwich, UEA
19 – Southampton, Guildhall
20 – Southend, Cliffs Pavilion
22 – Bournemouth, O2 Academy
23 – Newport, Centre
25 – Bristol, Colston Hall
26 – Birmingham, O2 Academy
28 & 29 – London, Brixton O2 Academy
31 – Leicester, De Montfort Hall

1 – Cambridge, Corn Exchange

Tickets go on sale on Friday, June 4, 2010, at 9am and are priced at £26.50, except London at £28.50.