Follow Us on Twitter

Marc Collin - Hollywood, Mon Amour

Marc Collin, Hollywood, Mon Amour

Review by Jack Foley

IndieLondon Rating: 3.5 out of 5

PARISIAN composer Marc Collin is the man behind Nouvelle Vague – but he’s now taken on a very different ambition: to change the way we feel about 1980s film soundtracks.

Hence, Hollywood, Mon Amour strips away what Collin describes as “the dated bombast and overblown synthesizers” of many well-known songs, so that the lyrics and the songs themselves take centre stage.

He’s also enlisted an incredible array of female vocal talent to bring the songs back to life, from former Morcheeba singer Skye (now a solo artist in her own right), to Yael Naim (of New Soul fame) and Dea Li.

The result may not always be entirely successful, but there’s an underlying beauty and undeniable quality about what Collin has done to songs such as Prince’s When Doves Cry, or Simple Minds’ Don’t You Forget About Me. Hell, the makeover is comparable to what Mark Ronson did with the songs of some of the well-known artists he chose to re-invent.

As cover versions go, this is a worthwhile collection to own – and one that will probably benefit from word of mouth rather than instant sales.

Highlights include Skye’s dreamy take on Blondie’s Call Me, and her sultry one on Duran Duran’s A View To A Kill – both delivered in serene, laidback versions to savour.

Nadeah delivers a satisfying – if no better – version of Prince’s When Doves Cry, while Yael Naim stamps her signature vocals over a slower, more delicate version of Flashdance… What A Feeling.

Strong, too, is Juliette Lewis’ take on This Is Not America, Gibelle’s kooky, charming rendition of Footloose, and Nadeah’s chilled out Forbidden Colours, from the film Merry Christmas Mr Lawrence.

Certain songs don’t translate quite as well, such as Simple Minds’ still great sounding Don’t You (Forget About Me), from The Breakfast Club, but in the main this is a great chill-out compilation of well-known classics that really deserves to find a wide and appreciative listener base.

It’s the type of collection that will go down well at dinner parties, too, when guests may indulge in a spot the song and movie “competition”. Try it!

Download picks: Call Me, A View To A Kill, Footloose, This Is Not America, Arthur’s Theme, Forbidden Colours

Track listing:

  1. Call Me – performed by Skye
  2. Eye of the Tiger – performed by Katrine Ottosen
  3. When Doves Cry -performed by Nadeah
  4. Cat People – performed by Dea Li
  5. A View to a Kill – performed by Skye
  6. Flashdance (What A Feeling) – performed by Yael Naim
  7. Footloose – performed by Cibelle
  8. This Is Not America – performed by Juliette Lewis
  9. Arthur’s Theme (Best that you can do) – performed by Nadeah
  10. Reality -performed by Nancy Danino
  11. Forbidden Colours – performed by Nadeah
  12. For Your Eyes Only – performed by Dea Li
  13. Don’t You (Forget About Me) – performed by Leelou