Follow Us on Twitter

Match of the Day: The Album - Various artists (Review)

Match of the Day: The Album

Review by Jack Foley

IndieLondon Rating: 4 out of 5

NOW here’s a good idea. Match Of The Day: The Album – a collection of stadium-sized indie anthems and goals!

Comprised of 2CDs packed with 40 songs and a DVD featuring 100 of the best Premiership goals, it’s a great gift idea, as well as a musical and sporting treat for any fans who like to combine their music with their football.

Match of the Day has, in itself, become an institution since its launch way back in 1964. The programme has become the must watch TV show for any football fan, thanks to presenters such as Jimmy Hill and its current incumbent, Gary Lineker, and the astute mix of highlights and analysis.

But aside from the football, MOTD is famous for one other thing – the great use of music. Starting with the anthemic theme tune, the show also uses great music that’s both classic and contemporary as a soundtrack to the highlights.

Everyone from The Manic Street Preachers and Doves to The Killers and Oasis have featured in recent years, so little wonder this 40-track collection features these artists plus many other Brit-pop and indie stalwarts from down the years.

The highlights kind of pick themselves, from Oasis’ breakthrough hit Supersonic – a surefire winner on the Manchester terraces – to The Stone Roses’ Waterfall, right down to obvious football anthems such as New Order’s World In Motion and The Lightning Seeds and David Baddiel and Frank Skinner’s Three Lions.

All the songs are big and anthemic, all the bands well-known and, dare I say, pretty obvious inclusions. Kasabian feature with their towering Underdog, Travis supply the relegation/winter winner Why Does It Always Rain On Me and the likes of The Clash (Rock The Kasbah) and The Undertones (Teenage Kicks) the classics. There’s even a look in for ultra-modern breakthrough acts such as MGMT with Time To Pretend.

So, as a greatest hits collection of top bands and sing-along records that could grace any summer barbecue or party occasion, it’s not a bad accompaniment to have on a CD shelf – while the goals just speak for themselves. It’s fun more than essential but one of the better ideas for a compilation.

Track listing:
Disc 1

  1. Best Of You – Foo Fighters
  2. Supersonic – Oasis
  3. Mr Brightside – Killers (The)
  4. Time To Pretend – MGMT
  5. Waterfall – Stone Roses (The)
  6. Geraldine – Glasvegas
  7. Breakeven – Script (The)
  8. We’ll Live And Die In These Towns – Enemy (The)
  9. Living For The Weekend – Hard-Fi
  10. Standing In The Way Of Control – Gossip
  11. Gangsters – Specials (The)
  12. Do You Remember The First Time – Pulp
  13. Rock The Kasbah – Clash (The)
  14. Why Does It Always Rain On Me – Travis
  15. Valerie – Zutons (The)
  16. Pass It On – Coral (The)
  17. Same Jeans – View (The)
  18. Ashes – Embrace
  19. All Together Now – Farm (The)
  20. Three Lions – Lightning Seeds & David Baddiel/Frank Skinner (The)

Disc 2

  1. Underdog – Kasabian
  2. Design For Life, A – Manic Street Preachers
  3. Black And White Town – Doves
  4. That’s Not My Name – Ting Tings (The)
  5. Come Together – Primal Scream
  6. Shake It – Metro Station
  7. It’s A Shame About Ray – Hoosiers (The)
  8. Wires – Athlete
  9. Take Me Out – Franz Ferdinand
  10. Blood – Editors
  11. Buck Rogers – Feeder
  12. Strange Town – Jam (The)
  13. Another Girl Another Planet – Only Ones (The)
  14. Always The Sun – Stranglers (The)
  15. Teenage Kicks – Undertones (The)
  16. All The Young Dudes – Mott The Hoople
  17. Boys Are Back In Town, The – Thin Lizzy
  18. Rockstar – Nickelback
  19. Life Of Riley – Lightning Seeds (The)
  20. World In Motion – New Order

Disc 3

  1. 100 Premier League Goals [DVD]