Follow Us on Twitter

Metallica explain Death Magnetic LP name and unveil tracklisting


Story by Jack Foley

METALLICA have decided to come out and explain the name of their forthcoming new album, Death Magnetic, at the same time as revealing the track listing.

Frontman James Hetfield explained: “It started out as kind of a tribute to people that have fallen in our business, like [Alice In Chains frontman] Layne Staley and a lot of the people that have died, basically — rock and roll martyrs of sorts. And then it kind of grew from there. Thinking about death… just like a magnet, some people are drawn towards it, (and) other people are afraid of it and push away.”

He added: “The concept that we’re all gonna die sometimes is over-talked about and then a lot of times never talked about — no one wants to bring it up; it’s the big white elephant in the living room. But we all have to deal with it at some point.”

The running order and the final song titles for the 12th album is as follows…

  1. That Was Just Your Life
  2. The End Of The Line
  3. Broken, Beat & Scarred
  4. The Day That Never Comes
  5. All Nightmare Long
  6. Cyanide
  7. The Unforgiven III
  8. The Judas Kiss
  9. Suicide & Redemption
  10. My Apocalypse

Metallica have also announced – via their own website and Mission:Metallica – that the album will be available for Guitar Hero. It’s a first in both music and gaming -the same day that Death Magnetic hits the streets, every song will be available to download for Guitar Hero III!

And for those of you who are awaiting the next Guitar Hero, World Tour, the band are ready for that too – you’ll be able to experience Death Magnetic for drums, vocals and guitar when that game emerges this Fall.

Metallica will return to the UK in August, when they headline the Reading and Leeds festivals.

  1. Definitely check out the website at! It has exclusive photos, videos, and tracks, recording footage, and ways to win tickets.

    I’m totally excited for the new album. Rock on!

    Melissa    Jul 25    #