Follow Us on Twitter

Metro Station - Metro Station

Metro Station, LP

Review by Jack Foley

IndieLondon Rating: 2 out of 5

METRO Station is the product of a musical dynasty… namely Trace Cyrus, son of Billy Ray and brother of teen sensation Miley Cyrus.

Incredibly, it took an intern discovering them on MySpace to help them get signed to the Red Ink label, where they have since thrived. Born out of networking sites, they have continued to grow into true web phenomenons which, in turn, has helped them launch a global assault on the mainstream pop scene.

On MySpace, their popularity continues to grow, with the band laying claim to a total of 22 million plays across 4 tracks, and 24 million plays across three videos on YouTube. Hits such as the recent Shake It merely add to their appeal, it seems.

But now that the eponymous debut album has dropped, we get to see just what they’re all about. And for an act that’s born out of flying in the face of the system, it’s disappointing to find that the pop records that ensue are worryingly generic.

Yes, they’re bouncy, breezy, hopeful power-pop offerings laden with harmony, angst, romanticism and ambition… but there’s nothing really memorable about them.

Songs such as Shake It are anthemic in the same kind of way as McFly’s songs, while the synth element that beds a lot of their songwriting feels like a pop-lite attempt to cash in on the success of acts such as MGMT and Iglu & Hartly.

Album opener Seventeen Forever belongs on the soundtrack to a movie like the latest Zac Efron starrer, 17 Again, Control is all bouncy beats and empty emotion, and Wish We Were Older speaks volumes for the maturity they lack.

Worse, a lot of their material sounds like it could have been born out of the Euro pop scene – the type of which usually plys its trade on the Eurovision Song Contest!

Only Kelsey, Shake It and the Linkin Park/Blink-182 wannabe that is California suggest they’re worthy of the hype surrounding them. But they’ve got a lot of growing up to do and need to take some greater risks if they’re to really be taken at all seriously.

Download picks: Kelsey, Shake It

Track listing:

  1. Seventeen Forever
  2. Control
  3. Kelsey
  4. Shake It
  5. Wish We Were Older
  6. Now That We’re Done
  7. True To Me
  8. Tell Me What To Do
  9. California
  10. Disco
  11. After The Fall [bonus track]
  12. Shake It [The Lindberg Palace mix/bonus track]