Follow Us on Twitter

Minus The Bear - Infinity Overhead (Review)

Minus The Bear, Infinity Overhead

Review by Jack Foley

IndieLondon Rating: 3 out of 5

SEATTLE veterans Minus The Bear deliver their fifth studio album and move back into the territory where they first made a name for themselves.

That is to say, big guitar sounds and a stadium-sized style of delivery. It’s also a maturer record, perhaps, than fans may have been accustomed to, leaning the way of Foo Fighters at times, especially during some of the choruses.

But while likeable for its duration, there is a feeling that this is more the sound of a band on auto-pilot rather than really offering anything daring or new.

Things get off to a cracking start with former single Steel And Blood, which is driven by some kick-ass guitars, a keen sense of melody and pleasing choruses.

While Toska, a couple of tracks later, offers some slick stop-start riff-making, a vaguely hazy vocal delivery and another of the album’s best choruses. It’s nicely meaty.

More low-key and ballad-based, yet no less striking, is the haunted Heaven Is A Ghost Town, which underlines the band’s ability to come up with striking imagery in their lyrics.

And Lonely Gun has some warped, striking hooks that weave in and out of another foot-stomper of a rocker.

Yet some of the tracks in between those best moments tend to underwhelm without completely dissatisfying. They’re good, if a little dated.

Die-hard fans will doubtless lap up the return to formula sound but newer fans may be harder to win over. Nevertheless, it does have its moments.

Download picks: Steel and Blood,

Track listing:

  1. Steel and Blood
  2. Lies And Eyes
  3. Diamond Lighting
  4. Toska
  5. Listing
  6. Heaven Is A Ghost Town
  7. Empty Party Rooms
  8. Zeros
  9. Lonely Gun
  10. Cold Company