Follow Us on Twitter

Mobb Deep - Blood Money

Mobb Deep, Blood Money

Review by Jack Foley

IndieLondon Rating: 2 out of 5

MOBB Deep are widely considered to be the pioneers of NYC’s gangsta rap scene, responsible for such rap classics as Drop A Gem On ‘Em, Quiet Storm, Survival Of The Fittest and Shook One’s Pt II (featured in the Eminem film ‘8 Mile’).

Individually known as Havoc and Prodigy, the duo have now been signed to 50 Cent’s G Unit label and their latest album, Bloody Money, is executive produced by 50 himself.

The result is a bog-standard hip-hop album that boasts all the usual big name production values – Mobb member Havoc, Eminem’s DJ Alchemist, 50 Cent’s right-hand man Sha Money XL and the legendary Dr. Dre – as well as a smattering of guests, from Lloyd Banks and Young Buck to Tony Yayo and, of course, 50 Cent.

The biggest disappointment surrounding the release, however, is the fact that Mobb Deep seem to have gone from hip-hop pioneers to genre copycats, content to churn out record after record that sounds like every other mainstream US release at the moment.

Most tracks could just as easily be picked out on a 50 Cent album, or a G Unit offering, or even the latest cut from The Game. Indeed, there are so many guests cropping up on each other’s albums at the moment, it’s getting damn near impossible to tell them apart.

Blood Money offers the usual mix of bad attitude, bling and hard-hitting lyrics that throw terms such as niggers, whores and motherfucka around like confetti.

The beats are dirty, grinding and mostly moody, while the vocals conform to the same level of toughness that is rife throughout 50 Cent’s Get Rich Or Die Tryin’ Movie.

Put Em In Their Place, for example, includes lyrical observations such as ‘I was raised by the wolves’ and ‘he’s got a tank for a car’, while Stole Something is all about what it takes to survive on the streets of their upbringing.

Creep drops the same beats that have become a trademark sound of the NY hip-hop scene at the moment (you can practically picture the cars bumping up and down in line with them), while Pearly Gates, the second 50 Cent collaboration, is deliberately designed to be controversial with lyrics that knowingly verge on blasphemy.

Says Prodigy of the record: “This is how I felt. I’ve been through enough to where I’ve earned the right to speak what I spoke.”

While Speakin’ So Freely pretty much sums up the overriding theme of the album with the opening line, ‘it’s all about the murders and the killings’.

Just occasionally, Blood Money drops a cut that elevates proceedings from the norm.

Give It To Me includes some Eastern rhythms that lend it an extra sense of urgency, while In Love With The Moula drops a better beat and a nice sample.

And Mary J Blige freshens things up a little on It’s Alright which, once again, features 50 Cent. But it’s a long haul to reach those tracks and unless you’re down with the whole gangsta rap scene, the result is a pretty torturous listen.

Track listing:

  1. Smoke It
  2. Put ‘Em In Their Place
  3. Stole Something
  4. Creep
  5. Speaking So Freely
  6. Backstage Pass
  7. Give It To Me
  8. Click Click
  9. Pearly Gates
  10. Capital P Capital H
  11. Daydreamin’
  12. Infamous
  13. In Love With The Moulah
  14. It’s Alright
  15. Have A Party
  16. Outta Control
  17. So Ill