Follow Us on Twitter

Mojo Awards 2009: Elbow, Blur and Yoko Ono among winners


Story by Jack Foley

ELBOW (pictured) continued their golden run at recent awards ceremonies by picking up a further prize at the Mojo magazine awards in London on Thursday night (June 11, 2009), along with Blur, Paul Weller and Yoko Ono.

The Mercury Music Prize winners beat stiff competition from the likes of Fleet Foxes to win the coveted song of the year for their track, One Day Like This – one of the highlights to emerge from their latest LP, The Seldom Seen Kid.

John Lennon’s widow Yoko Ono received a lifetime achievement honour, while Blur made their first public appearance together ahead of their forthcoming reunion gigs to collect the inspiration award.

Further honours went to Fleet Foxes, for best live act, and Paul Weller, who picked up his third Mojo award for best album (as voted for by readers).

Commenting on Ono’s award, Mojo chief editor Phil Alexander, who also hosted the event, described the 76-year-old as “a huge influence on modern music”.

“She may have been married to one of the most famous men in the world, but she also helped change music as we know it in her own right,” he explained.

“First, by introducing avant-garde sensibilities to her husband but, just as significantly, by continuing to push the boundaries of what was deemed the norm way after that.”

In what proved to be a celebratory evening of acts past and present, Manic Street Preachers were presented with the maverick award for their “mix of fiery intellectualism and incendiary rock ‘n’ roll”, while Joy Division took the vision award.

An icon prize was presented to the late Phil Lynott, of Thin Lizzy, while another of this year’s reformed acts, Mott The Hoople, were presented with the hall of fame award.

Johnny Marr picked up the classic songwriter prize, while the outstanding contribution to music award was presented to Joe Brown after 51 years as a recording artist. And the heroes prize went to 1960s band The Pretty Things.

Emerging London band White Lies were named best breakthrough act.