Follow Us on Twitter

Money For Rope - Money For Rope LP (Review)

Money For Rope, Money for Rope LP

Review by Jack Foley

IndieLondon Rating: 4 out of 5

MELBOURNE five-piece Money For Rope have delivered a blistering collection of songs with their eponymous debut LP.

Self-consciously evoking the spirit of Vietnam-era Doors and The Rolling Stones, as well as the more modern surfy rhythms of the Allah-La’s or Ty Segall, the album proceeds to deliver one kick-ass rocker after another.

These are songs dripping with the power that two drum kits, two guitars, a bass, three voices and keys can offer, as well as a sharp-eyed appreciation for just how bands like The Doors were able to create such lasting songs.

Album opener Common Man sets the tone, combining ’60s inspired grooves with crunching riffs, echoed vocals and a whoa who-laden chorus. The organs lend it the obvious Doors comparisons but so, too, do the powerhouse vocals. But it’s a ferocious start – urgent, cool and entirely melodic for all of its power.

Thereafter, it’s just a question of picking out your absolute favourites as there’s barely a bad track here.

Been In The Wars drops a throbbing, thrilling bassline along with some more cool organ and a chanted, catchy chorus; You’ll Be Gone has a driving, blues-rock vibe that the late Jeff Healey would have been proud to lay claim to (not to mention Harlem Shuffle-era Stones), while former single Misery Lane is dripping with those ’60s inspired grooves, as well as a kick-ass backbeat. It’s just a thunderously good record.

Classic, too, is the anthemic Ten Times, which combines an anguished central vocal with chanted choruses and some genuinely playful guitar and drum work, which throws you several loops with sudden changes of pace and mid-track breakdowns. It’s the sound of a band having fun and it’s entirely infectious.

Hang Em High is perhaps the one song where they arguably over-indulge themselves, building from a slow opening to a riotous mess.

But Sail Past Your House is another livewire blend of guitars and organs that combine to create something effortlessly cool and Easy Way Out rounds the album off with some virtuoso guitar (the solos are electrifying and hark back to a classic guitar era).

And that’s not forgetting the funky strut of the lower-key Since I Left, which trades on another sublimely satisfying organ bed.

Trust us, these guys know how to rock your world. So, let it be rocked!

Download picks: Common Man, Misery Lane, Ten Times, Easy Way Out

Track listing:

  1. Child Owlet
  2. 52 Hertz
  3. A Song to Live By
  4. Tomorrow Will Follow Today
  5. La Moneca (Queen of the Island of Dolls)
  6. Down, Dog!
  7. Rusalka
  8. The Banishing Book
  9. The Robber Bridegroom
  10. Soft the Morning Sun