Follow Us on Twitter

Morgan Page - Elevate

Morgan Page, Elevate

Review by Jack Foley

IndieLondon Rating: 3 out of 5

DJ/PRODUCER Morgan Page’s debut album Elevate is a semi-impressive mix of remixes and original songs that’s capable of appealing to a wide variety of dance tastes.

It features remixes of Delerium and Nelly Furtado as well as collaborations with vocalists such as Lissie and Tyler James, and is clever enough to keep things varied to avoid easy pigeonholes.

But then as Mark Jowett, co-owner of record label Nettwerk Records, explains: “While Morgan’s remixes often include some of the meanest beats, he never forgets a sense of melody or song. Now we get to hear original music crafted by Morgan that takes his great sense of melody and vibe to a whole other level, and he comes through delivering songs with maximum impact.”

Evidence of this comes right from the start with opening track and lead single The Longest Road featuring an endearing blend of electronic dance and folk music. Californian folk artist Lissie drops a strong set of vocals that work well with Morgan’s catchy instrumentals.

There’s more of a chilled out Ibiza focus on Call My Name, that features a Kiss FM-friendly set of vocals from Tyler James, while Matt Wasley lends some laidback charisma to the glockenspiel tinged beats and melodies of Fade Away, as well as some vocoder elements. But the latter two tracks fail to mark the album at its best.

If anything, it’s at its best in remix territory with Jenny Owen Youngs’ F**k Was I emerging as a firm favourite, its electronics and slick beats combining to thrilling effect with Youngs’ sultry, Tracey Thorn-like vocals.

His remix of Nelly Furtado’s Maneater is also fun and funky, while some harder dance/trance elements mix well with the operatic flourishes of Delerium’s Angelicus to suitably atmospheric effect. The Submarines’ Peace And Hate is another highlight that flirts outrageously at times with the style of Royksopp.

Look out, too, for the cinematic moodiness of Dengue Fever’s ethereal Sleepwalking Through The Mekong and the dusky Under (by Under). Such moments elevate Morgan Page’s debut to something that’s really quite appealing.

Download picks: The Longest Road, Peace And Hate, Maneater, F**k I Was, Sleepwalking Through The Mekong, Under

Track listing:

  1. Longest Road – Morgan Page & Lissie
  2. Call My Name – Submarines
  3. Peace And Hate – Submarines
  4. Fade Away – Morgan Page & Matt Wasley
  5. Fuck Was I [Morgan Page remix] – Jenny Owen Youngs
  6. Nervous In The Light Of Dawn [Morgan Page remix] – Leigh Nash
  7. Dirty Laundry [Morgan Page remix] – Bitter:Sweet
  8. Maneater [David Garcia/Morgan Page remix] – Nelly Furtado
  9. Angelicus [Morgan Page remix] – Delerium 10. One Day – Morgan Page & Camila Grey
  10. Sleepwalking Through The Mekong [Morgan Page remix] – Dengue Fever
  11. Under – Under
  12. Longest Road [Deadmaus vocal remix] – Morgan Page & Lissie