Follow Us on Twitter

Nitin Sawhney announces UK tour and new album (2008)

Nitin Sawhney

Story by Jack Foley

NITIN Sawhney has announced that he will be touring the UK in October and November, to promote the release of his forthcoming album, London Undersound (released Monday, October 13).

The tour will take in a total of nine dates around the country, including a special performance in London to kick things off – although the venue and details of the gig have yet to be announced.

The full tour dates are (all October and November 2008):

24 – London special performance (all details tba)
27 – Manchester Academy
28 – Birmingham Town Hall
29 – Bristol, Anson Rooms

1 – Sheffield, Leadmill
3 – Leeds, Stylus
5 – Cambridge, The Junction
6 – Brighton, The Corn Exchange
7 – Oxford, Academy

The live band line-up will be as follows: Nitin Sawhney – keys and guitar; Aref Durvesh – tabla; Ashwin Srinivasan – flute and vocals; Ian Burdge – cello; Martyn Kaine – drums; Tina Grace – vocals; Luci Joules – vocals.

London Undersound, Sawhney’s eighth album, promises to be another work of extraordinary variety and vitality.

Featuring a cast of guest contributors that includes Natty, Reena Bhardwaj, Ojos de Brujo, Anoushka Shankar, Roxanne Tataei, Tina Grace, Aruba Red, Imogen Heap, Faheem Mazhar and Paul McCartney, the album embraces a far-flung range of musical and cultural influences, deftly bound together by Sawhney’s masterful production, and a narrative subtext which runs through the diverse strands of music like a thread of steel.

London Undersound is about how London’s changed since 9/11 and how I and other people perceive that change,” explains Sawhney. “I don’t recognize London as the same place it was ten years ago. The change has been quite subliminal and insidious. But it is massively different.

“London has become polarised in a way that I find uncomfortable and threatening, especially as an Asian person. I wanted to explore through my music the dynamic of a city which is going through a major transition.”

The album artwork features 16 specially contributed line drawings by acclaimed British Sculptor Antony Gormley.