Follow Us on Twitter

NME Awards 2010: Muse and Kasabian land top honours


Story by Jack Foley

MUSE (pictured) and Kasabian took the top honours at the 2010 NME Awards in London, winning best British band and best album respectively.

Muse beat Kasabian, Oasis, Arctic Monkeys and Biffy Clyro to the best band award, prompting singer Matt Bellamy to describe the result as “a great surprise”.

“I didn’t expect to win that one at all,” he said. “It’s very humbling to win that.”

The band also won best website.

Kasabian, meanwhile, followed up last week’s Brit award with two more trophies: for best album (for West Ryder Pauper Lunatic Asylum) and best album artwork.

Ironically, there were no awards for Oasis who were snubbed by the magazine’s readers after announcing their split last year. The band had been in contention for three awards – but ironically even lost out to old rivals Blur in the best live event category.

Of the night’s other main recipient, Paul Weller was recognised with the Godlike Genius trophy at the ceremony.

The former Jam lead singer was presented with his honorary accolade by The Clash guitarist Mick Jones and Primal Scream frontman Bobby Gillespie, who said of Weller: “He wrote some of the most beautiful and poetic songs about being young and British.”

Weller responded: “I’m embarrassed that people said so many nice things about me… They’re all true.”

Ska legends The Specials were also recognised with an honorary award, for outstanding contribution to music – which was presented to six members of the group by Damon Albarn.

Lady GaGa received the best dressed prize, as well as being named the worst dressed star, Biffy Clyro won best video for their single The Captain, and Arctic Monkeys – who had led the nominations – were named best live band.

Of the many live performances to take place during the ceremony, former Pogues frontman Shane MacGowan appearedto introduce an “alternative” charity single for the victims of the Haiti earthquake.

Johnny Depp plays guitar on the cover of Screamin’ Jay Hawkins’ classic I Put A Spell On You, while Nick Cave, Chrissie Hynde and Paloma Faith also took part.

Its video received its premiere at the ceremony and the single will be available to download from Monday with proceeds going o to the charity Concern.