Follow Us on Twitter

NME New Music Tour 2006 - Boy Kill Boy headline

Boy Kill Boy

Story by Jack Foley

BOY Kill Boy (pictured), The Automatic, iForward, Russia! and The Long Blondes have all been confirmed for the NME New Music Tour 2006.

The annual trek is always a good showcase for emerging talent, having previously helped to introduce the likes of Maximo Park and The Cribs.

The gigs take place throughout May 2006 at venues across the country, including a night at London’s Electric Ballroom on May 24.

The NME New Music Tour dates are:

May 6 – Bristol University
7 – Cardiff University
8 – Wolverhampton Wulfrun
10 – Glasgow QMU
11 – Middlesbrough Empire
12 – Manchester University
14 – Portsmouth Pyramid
15 – Leicester University
16 – Cambridge Junction
18 – Norwich UEA
19 – Sheffield Leadmill(No Forward Russia)
20 – Liverpool Carling Academy
23 – Oxford Brookes University
24 – London Electric Ballroom

Commenting on what it means to be part of this year’s NME line-up, Chris Peck, of Boy Kill Boy, said: “It’s fucking great to be on the tour. It should be a good atmosphere, it’s going to be wicked.”

Joining them on the bill are Welsh tips The Automatic, iForward, Russia! and The Long Blondes, who are looking to introduce themselves to a wider audience having recently received the Phillip Hall Radar Award at the recent ShockWaves NME Awards.

A word of warning though, The Long Blondes will miss the first three dates, when Howling Bells will be filling in as openers.