Follow Us on Twitter

Noisettes - Wild Young Hearts

Noisettes, Wild Young Hearts

Review by Jack Foley

IndieLondon Rating: 4 out of 5

THINGS are looking up for London trio, Noisettes, and deservedly so. Having failed to generate the groundswell of support that matched the acclaim surrounding their debut album, What’s The Time Mr Wolf?, they now look set to return triumphant with sophomore return Wild Young Hearts.

Driven by the mesmerising vocals of Shingai Shoniwa, the band have come over all soul-pop and summery to deliver a dazzling mix of retro-inspired, yet forward-looking party anthems in waiting.

Vocally, Shoniwa elicits the memory of everyone from Motown era Diana Ross to Eartha Kitt and Skye-era Morcheeba. While her partners in positivity, Dan Smith and Jamie Morrison, supply the sublime musical arrangements that give the album its joyful heart and soul.

Standing biggest and brightest among the tracks, of course, is their former No.2 hit Don’t Upset The Rhythm, a galloping funkster that drops one of the catchiest pop choruses of the year, and which has already been seized upon as the musical focal point of an advertising campaign. It’s the song that will bring so many people to the album – but there are plenty more to keep people there.

Saturday Night, for instance, is a foot-stomping slice of electro-rock that channels the energy of Blondie and is capable of packing any dancefloor, while the sassy Never Forget You drips ‘60s soul and Motown era funk.

There’s a breezy beauty to the slower number Atticus, a sweeping optimism to the shimmering Every Now And Then, which really does sound like a Morcheeba trip-hopper, and a welcoming bliss about the similarly chilled album opener Sometimes.

Title track Wild Young Hearts, meanwhile, is full of snappy hand-clap beats, lush “la la la” melodies and an infectious sense of general gidiness that’s a tailor-made summer anthem in waiting.

Indeed, there’s not much to dislike about this defiantly upbeat confection… and Noisettes deserve to become as big as advance word suggests off the back of this.

Download picks: Sometimes, Don’t Upset The Rhythm, Wild Young Hearts, Never Forget You, Atticus, Saturday Night

Track listing:

  1. Sometimes
  2. Wild Young Hearts
  3. 24 Hours
  4. Every Now And Then
  5. Don’t Upset The Rhythm
  6. Beat Of My Heart
  7. Atticus
  8. Never Forget You
  9. So Complicated
  10. Saturday Night
  11. Cheap Tricks