Follow Us on Twitter

Lee Mead - Nothing Else Matters

Review by Lizzie Guilfoyle

IndieLondon Rating: 4 out of 5

NOTHING Else Matters follows the success of Lee Mead’s debut, self-titled allbum and is a compilation of love songs – some old, others new. Just don’t expect sentimental slush or hits from West End musicals.

Being love songs they are, of course, sentimental but they embrace a mix of styles and tempos that comprehensively demonstrate Mead’s full vocal range, sometimes in a single track – in Good To Be Alive and Time To Say Goodbye, for example.

Highlights include the title song, a slow ballad that ups its tempo for the chorus; When the Stars Go Blue, a duet with Hayley Westenra whose vocal tones perfectly complement Mead’s; and the Spandau Ballet classic Through The Barricades.

More importantly, perhaps, Mead enunciates every word, allowing every track to tell it’s own story. Perhaps then it’s no coincidence that in Everything I Left Behind he sings “I hear every word you say.”

This shouldn’t, however, come as a surprise – his voice certainly went under the microscope in Any Dream Will Do, the very public auditions for the title role in Sir Andrew Lloyd Webber’s revival of Joseph and the Amazing Technicolor Dreamcoat, a role Mead justifiably won before going on to delight West End audiences for 18 months.

Mead’s legions of adoring fans will love Nothing Else Matters. For anyone else, it’s perfect for relaxing with, particularly with that special person in your life.

Download picks: Nothing Else Matters, When the Stars Go Blue, Breathe You Out, Through the Barricades, More Than Words.

Track listing:

  1. Nothing Else Matters
  2. Collide
  3. When The Stars Go Blue
  4. Breathe You Out
  5. Drops Of Jupiter
  6. Everything I Left Behind
  7. Through The Barricades
  8. Holding On To Letting Go
  9. Good To Be Alive
  10. The Time To Say Goodbye
  11. More Than Words