Follow Us on Twitter

Oasis - Stop The Clocks

Oasis, Stop The Clocks

Review by Jack Foley

IndieLondon Rating: 4 out of 5

LIKE them or loathe them (or even feel indifferent towards them), Oasis have been at the forefront of the world’s music scene for over a decade now thanks to their combination of bad-boy antics and winning music.

Having spent 10 months on the road in support of the 2 million selling Don’t Believe The Truth, the band have decided to release their first ever retrospective in the form of Stop The Clocks, which capably draws together the cream of their multi-platinum albums, No.1 singles and, unique to Oasis, instantly familiar B-sides into one 18 track double album.

It’ll be the last material before they take a sabbatical prior to starting work on new material and is described as “a time out, a dream set list and a chance for the world to review the immense contribution that Oasis have made and continue to make to rock ‘n’ roll” (their words, not ours!).

It also, somewhat tellingly, shows how the band have only rarely recaptured the brilliance of their earliest material and have mostly been content to stick to an established formula.

The tracks have been chosen by the band themselves, which lend them a more intimate feel, and include such gems as blistering debut single Supersonic, elegaic crowd-pleaser Wonderwall and “greatest B-side ever” Aquiesce, which belatedly made it as a single when it was released last week as part of the Stop The Clocks EP.

Further highlights include Rock ‘N Roll Star and Live Forever, which display the verve and early swagger of their Definitely Maybe breakthrough album, the anthemic Slide Away (also from Definitely Maybe) and Morning Glory and Champage Supernova from their outstanding sophomore release What’s The Story (Morning Glory).

Curiously, there’s no room for another great track from that era – Whatever – but some terrific B-sides are included, such as the charming acoustic effort Talk Tonight and the similarly enchanting Half The World Away, a track that has since become instantly recognisable to all in the UK for its use as the theme music to the BBC’s The Royle Family.

Thereafter, the material has been more hit-and-miss, veering between the rousing and inspiring to the more pedestrian.

Classic choices include the brash Go Let It Out and the Liam Gallagher penned Songbird, that marks a very rare departure from the band’s trademark sound, but sadly there’s no room for the distinct riffs of Hindu Times which is a disappointing omission.

The less inspired likes of Lyla and The Importance Of Being Idle do, however, make the cut and notably lack the sparkle of the band’s very best material despite remaining accomplished. There’s also a telling absence of any new material.

On the whole, however, this is an epic retrospective that mostly delivers what Oasis fans were anticipating. It’s sure to become another massive seller and will probably be the first of many greatest hits collections for them.

A special edition 2CD and DVD release is probably the best option, as this also includes footage from the band’s legendary Knebworth gig and an intriguing 40-minute EPK (electronic press kit). It marks the most complete version of the retrospective and is the real must have for any true fan of the Gallaghers and their music.

Track listing:

  1. Rock ‘N’ Roll Star
  2. Some Might Say
  3. Talk Tonight
  4. Lyla
  5. The Importance Of Being Idle
  6. Wonderwall
  7. Slide Away
  8. Cigarettes & Alcohol
  9. The Masterplan

Disc Two

  1. Live Forever
  2. Acquiesce
  3. Supersonic
  4. Half The World Away
  5. Go Let It Out
  6. Songbird
  7. Morning Glory
  8. Champagne Supernova
  9. Don’t Look Back In Anger

  1. Why jump on the anti-Oasis bandwagon all the time. This is a definitive best of collection from one of the greatest bands on the planet right now. So what if they have attitude? At least it beats the blandness of most bands of the moment. The Gallghers look set to roll with it for a few more years yet.

    Jess    Nov 24    #