Follow Us on Twitter

Our Last Night - The Ghosts Among Us

Our Last Night, The Ghosts Among Us

Review by Jack Foley

IndieLondon Rating: 1 out of 5

MATT Wentworth, guitarist and supposed melodist for Our Last Night, says of debut album The Ghosts Among Us: “Fans can expect a more developed sound compared to the demos we have online and anything we have released in the past.

“We focused a lot more on the songwriting aspect rather than throwing a bunch of riffs together and calling it a song.

“The songs that will be on the new album are definitely the most exciting and energetic songs we have ever written.”

Um, God only knows what the demos sounded like. But this New Hampshire hardcore/screamo group display little or no ear for melody and prefer to wail/scream than sing.

Debut album The Ghosts Among Us is a loud, wailed collection of 11 songs that follow a predictably similar format.

Occasionally, on tracks like Escape, they hint at reigning themselves in and allowing the guitars to show some melodic structure, while some of the vocals display some harmony.

But most of the time they exist to wail, thrash and crash about the place, while laying claim to supposedly intelligent, emotive lyrics (as reflected in pretentious song titles such as Symptoms Of A Failing System and I Have Fought A Measureless Battle). They’re being hailed as “the genre’s new heavyweights” but they clearly have a lot of growing up to do.

It’s called The Ghosts Among Us and it could well leave you haunted for some time afterwards.

Track listing:

  1. Symptoms of A Failing System
  2. Timing Is Everything
  3. Running The Clocks
  4. Recovery
  5. Escape
  6. Dreamcatcher
  7. Forecasting
  8. Surviving Disasters
  9. This Is Your Lifesaver
  10. I Have Fought A Measurless Battle
  11. The Messenger