Follow Us on Twitter

Panic At The Disco - Live In Chicago

Panic At The Disco, Live In Chicago

Review by Jack Foley

IndieLondon Rating: 3.5 out of 5

LAS Vegas based foursome Panic At The Disco look to top off another successful year with the release of a live CD/DVD, entitled Live In Chicago.

As with any live album, it’s one for the fans – but a useful indicator of just why they’re considered such a top live act.

The energy and enthusiasm inherent in a lot of their songs is gleefully apparent throughout this lengthy set list, while the near-constant screaming and singing along of the fans provides testament that Chicago was having a good time.

Highlights include the early rendition of hit single Nine In The Afternoon, which is sharp on melody and an infectious way of whipping the crowd into a sing-along frenzy.

But It’s Better If You Do, with its cheeky lyrics (“looking for love in a lap dance”) is a good follow-up, while Behind The Sea is a melody-strewn beauty that finds the band encouraging plenty of crowd support and arm waving.

Lying Is The Most Fun A Girl Can Have Without Taking Her Clothes Off is a clear crowdpleaser, too, That Green Gentleman (Things Have Changed) a firm favourite that – again – brims with sharp hooks and a keen sense of harmony, and there’s a breezy slice of folk on the aptly named Folkin’ Around.

Huge hit I Write Sins Not Tragedies is as rousing as you’d predict as a fan, complete with an interesting new intro, while Northern Downpour is a cigarette lighter/mobile phone waving moment par excellence.

Of the alternative versions of Disco songs included on the package, there’s a beautifully stripped back version of Do You Know What I’m Seeing? that’s totally worth swooning over (complete with strings), as well as an enchanting acoustic variation on She Had The World.

In addition to the live audio and video, fans also get a sneak peek at life on the road as illustrated by the tour documentary as well as a photo gallery, music videos and bonus audio tracks. It’s everything you could possibly wish for as a Panic At The Disco fan.

Download picks: Nine In The Afternoon, Do You Know What I’m Seeing? (alternative version), She Had The World (alternative version), Northern Downpour (live), I Write Sins Not Tragedies, That Green Gentleman (Things Have Changed), Behind The Sea

Track listing:
Disc 1:

  1. We’re So Starving
  2. Nine In The Afternoon
  3. But It’s Better If You Do
  4. Camisado
  5. She’s A Handsome Woman
  6. The Only Difference Between Martyrdom And Suicide Is Press Coverage
  7. Behind The Sea
  8. Lying Is The Most Fun A Girl Can Have Without Taking Her Clothes Off
  9. I Constantly Thank God For Esteban
  10. That Green Gentleman (Things Have Changed)
  11. There’s A Good Reason These Tables Are Numbered Honey, You Just Haven’t Thought Of It Yet
  12. Folkin’ Around
  13. I Write Sins Not Tragedies
  14. Northern Downpour
  15. Time To Dance
  16. Pas De Cheval
  17. Mad As Rabbits

CD – Bonus tracks

  1. Do You Know What I’m Seeing? (Alternate Version)
  2. Behind The Sea (Alternate Version)
  3. She Had The World (Alternate Version)
  4. The Piano Knows Something I Don’t Know (Alternate Version)

DVD – Additional video content

  1. Tour Documentary “All In A Day’s” (video)
  2. MTV’s American Valley Short Film (video)
  3. That Green Gentleman (Things Have Changed) (video)
  4. Nine In The Afternoon (video)
  5. Mad As Rabbits (video)
  6. Northern Downpour (video)
  7. Northern Downpour (making of the video)
  8. That Green Gentleman (Things Have Changed) (beyond the video)
  9. Nine In The Afternoon (beyond the video)
  10. Photo Gallery