Follow Us on Twitter

Pearl Jam announce new album, Backspacer

Pearl Jam

Story by Jack Foley

PEARL Jam will release their eagerly anticipated new studio album Backspacer on September 21 (2009).

Produced by Brendan O’Brien, the LP will be preceded by the highly charged new single The Fixer on September 7 (and released digitally August 24).

Pearl Jam describe themselves as a band reborn with their ninth studio album Backspacer, their first release with Universal/Island records.

The band reunited with producer Brendan O’Brien for Backspacer who produced four of Pearl Jam’s earlier albums and the re-master of their seminal debut Ten, which was released in March.

The band recently premiered Got Some, one of the many highlights from their new 11-track record on the debut of US chat show, The Tonight Show with Conan O’Brien, June 1.

Their performance gained an unprecedented amount of views on YouTube and received the biggest US chat show audience figures in five years.

In the US, Backspacer will be self-released by the band for the first time, following the end of their deal with Sony.

Pearl Jam – Eddie Vedder (lead vocals, guitar), Jeff Ament (bass), Stone Gossard (guitar) Matt Cameron (drums) and Mike McCready (guitar) – play four European dates including two UK shows before touring the US in September. Find out more