Follow Us on Twitter

Pete Greenwood - Sirens

Pete Greenwood, Sirens

Review by Jack Foley

IndieLondon Rating: 2 out of 5

ACOUSTIC/folk newcomer Pete Greenwood exists in the same sort of guitar-picking, singer-songwriter genre as the likes of Bob Dylan, Nick Drake and Bert Jansch.

His debut album, Sirens, is an unassuming listen that displays a keen eye for a strong lyric, if not necessarily as sharp an ear for a killer melody.

The main problem with the album is that it’s very much rooted in one style, which can get repetitive even though it only clocks in at a little over 31 minutes.

Greenwood’s vocals are soft, soothing and extremely laidback but so are his guitar licks – and you may feel like they require an injection of pace in places.

Album opener and title track Sirens certainly demonstrates some nice layering and makes good use of piano, slide guitar and harmonica but it also sets the standard in terms of pace. It meanders.

Negotiations And Last Words boasts a vibe that’s likely to draw comparisons with Paul Simon, while Any Given Day is a nice enough listen.

But by the fifth track, you tend to realise that the album will seldom get out of first gear.

Indeed, only really Bats Over Barstow picks up the pace and arrives like a breath of fresh air, proving that there could be more to Greenwood’s make-up than just “another nice folk singer-songwriter”.

Taken in small doses, there are songs on the LP that will probably win you over. But Greenwood needs to mix things up a little if he’s to really broaden his appeal.

Download picks: Sirens, Bats Over Barstow, The Bitter End

Track listing:

  1. Sirens
  2. Negotiations And Last Words
  3. I Used To Be In A Band
  4. Any Given Day
  5. Wine And Rye
  6. A
  7. B
  8. Bats Over Barstow
  9. Heavy Eva
  10. The Bitter End
  11. For A Girl Like Mine
  12. Penny Dreadful