Follow Us on Twitter

Pete Yorn announces UK dates and new single

Pete Yorn

Story by Jack Foley

PETE Yorn has announced a handful of UK dates and the release of a new single.

Sans Fear will be released through Because Music on May 16 and is taken from his new, eponymously-titled album.

For the gugs, Yorn, on guitar, vocals and harmonica, will be joined by his band, Mark Noseworthy (guitar), Zak Schaffer (bass) and Scott Seiver (drums).

The UK dates are (all May 2011):

16 – Manchester – Academy 3
17 – Glasgow – King Tuts
19 – London – KCLSU
20 – Birmingham

Yorn’s new album was recorded on the spur-of-the-moment in the summer of 2008. Yorn was working on material for Back & Fourth in Nebraska when he got an email from Black suggesting that they record some tunes.

Intrigued by the notion of experimenting with [producer] Frank Black, Yorn hopped on a plane to Salem, OR, where the two set up an impromptu studio. They recorded the album in a mere five days – even though the singer-songwriter-guitarist came down with the flu two days into the process.

Read our review of the LP or watch the video for Sans Fear: