Follow Us on Twitter

Placebo: 10 Year Anniversary Collectors Edition

Placebo: 10 Year Anniversary Collectors Edition

Review by Jack Foley

IndieLondon Rating: 4 out of 5

IT’S been a little over 10 years since Placebo first exploded onto the scene with their debut self-titled album. Since then, they have become one of the UK’s best guitar-pop bands, continually winning new friends and converting the sceptics along the way.

Their most recent album Meds is a veritable tour-de-force that finds Brian Molko and co at the peak of their form, uniting with luminaries such as REM’s Michael Stipe, and expanding their darker form of songwriting to a much wider listener base.

What better time, then, for previously unconverted listeners to go back and discover how it all began, while offering the loyal die-hards something a little special into the bargain.

Placebo: The 10 Year Anniversary Collectors’ Edition has since become recognised as one of the seminal debut releases of the Nineties.

It spawned the band’s first single, Teenage Angst, which charted respectably at No.30, as well as the monster smash that was to become something of a signature track, Nancy Boy.

A rallying call-to-arms for outrageous and androgynous boys and girls, as well as an antidote and two-fingered gesture to the laddism of Britpop, Nancy Boy blazed its way into the Top 5 and helped Placebo to go Platinum (300,000 sales) in the UK. World-wide, it sold over 750,000 and catapulted Placebo into the global spotlight.

The re-issue of the album is seen as a thank you to fans as much as the chance for others to play catch up. It has been re-mastered and includes exclusive, previously unavailable extras such as demos of Paycheck and the fan club only Flesh Mechanic.

B-sides such as Drowning By Numbers and Slackerbitch (which appeared on Nancy Boy) are also included, while the CD comes accompanied by a DVD comprised of all the promo videos from the album and more previously unavailable live and TV performances. These include a Glastonbury 1998 performance of Lady of the Flowers and a funny Big Breakfast roadshow performance of Teenage Angst.

Track listing:
Disc One – CD

  1. Come Home
  2. Teenage Angst
  3. Bionic
  4. 36 Degrees
  5. Hang On To Your IQ
  6. Nancy Boy
  7. I Know
  8. Bruise Pristine
  9. Lady Of The Flowers
  10. Swallow
  11. Paycheck [Demo]
  12. Flesh Mechanic [Demo]
  13. Drowning By Numbers
  14. Slackerbitch
    H K Farewell

    Disc Two – DVD

  15. Come Home [Alexandra Palace – 11.04.06]
  16. Teenage Angst [The Big Breakfast – 29.08.96]
  17. Nancy Boy [Top Of The Pops – 31.01.97]
  18. Lady Of The Flowers [Glastonbury Festival – 27.06.98]
  19. Teenage Angst [The White Room – 23.08.96]
  20. Bruise Pristine [Top Of The Pops – 23.05.97]
  21. 36 Degrees [Wembley Arena – 5.11.04]
  22. 36 Degrees
  23. Teenage Angst
  24. Nancy Boy
  25. Bruise Pristine