Follow Us on Twitter

Popular Workshop - We’re Alive And We’re Not Alone

Popular Workshop

Review by Hedley Jackson

IndieLondon Rating: 4 out of 5

LISTENING to this lively three-piece’s debut album is a rough ride. It storms through songs with distorted guitars chopping out chords while shouted and screamed vocals tear into bizarre lyrics with limitless confidence. It’s a rough ride that thrills from start to finish.

Popular Workshop sound like The Strokes but with even more gusto and a lot more punk. It’s refreshing to see such confidence in a young band who want to create their own direction and make great music along the way.

Jake, Luke and Gypsy’s best song on the album, Popsong, delivers all of this controlled chaos with a great melody to form a punk tune that sounds more indie than the rest of their album. This side of the band could be compared to the likes of Bloc Party and it’s more accessible to a wider group of fans.

At some points, though, the band’s music can turn a little too bizarre and lose all direction. This is disappointing as they have the ability to create great songs. All About Vikki is an example of how this rough, carefree attitude is not always a success, leaving the song sounding empty.

But the rough coating to the songs demonstrates their confidence and generally manages to excite the listener. They use fantastic riffs throughout the album that keep you hooked until the final screech of feedback.

We’re Alive And We’re Not Alone by Popular Workshop is a frenzy of noise that refuses to stop and refuses to play fair. The result is a set of richly entertaining songs to mark a fantastic debut.

Download Picks: Alphabet, Reptilians, Popsong, Radical, Get Up And Wait

Track Listing:

  1. Freak Le Freak, AKA The Freakster
  2. Alphabet
  3. Her Birthday
  4. Uh (Uh) Uh Uh
  5. Reptilians
  6. Popsong
  7. X-Rays Confidential
  8. Radical
  9. Channels
  10. All About Vikki
  11. City Limits
  12. Get Up And Wait