Follow Us on Twitter

Ramin - Ramin LP (Review)


Preview by Lizzie Guilfoyle

IndieLondon Rating: 3.5 out of 5

WITH leading roles in The Phantom of the Opera, Love Never Dies and Les Miserables, Ramin Karimloo is undoubtedy one of modern musical theatre’s greatest stars.

Now, he has released his debut album entitled simply Ramin and in all probability, it’s not quite what you would expect.

True, it includes the hauntingly beautiful Music of the Night from The Phantom of the Opera and the exquisite, heart-rending ‘Til I Hear You Sing from Love Never Dies.

However, these are mixed in with new songs co-written by Karimloo himself as well as cover versions of Bryan Adams’ Everything I Do (I Do It For You) and Guiding Light from Muse’s 2009 album The Resistance.

I was lucky enough to see Karimloo in Love Never Dies and I can honestly say that this recorded version is every bit as emotional and powerful as his stage rendition that brought audiences to their feet. In fact, I’d go so far as to say it’s worth buying the album for this track alone.

Cover versions are often the subject of fierce debate and it’s certainly a brave man who takes on the iconic Everything I Do from Kevin Reynolds’ 1991 film Robin Hood: Prince of Thieves. However, Karimloo has more than done it justice – perhaps because his voice has just a hint of the raspiness so characteristic of Adams.

As for the rest – all new to me – it took me several listens to differentiate one track from another (such is my musical ear) but my perseverance eventually paid off. I particularly like three of Karimloo’s four compositions – Show Me Light, Broken Home and Eyes of a Child – ballads that showcase the contrasting power and gentleness of his voice.

Initially, fans of Karimloo the West End idol may find it difficult to come to terms with Karimloo the ‘rock’ star but, as I’ve already indicated, time is the key to a true appreciation of his talent – both as a singer and a songwriter – so this is certainly not an album to be overlooked.

Download picks: Show Me Light, Broken Home, Eyes of a Child, Everything I Do (I Do It for You), ‘Til I Hear You Sing, Music of the Night

Track listing:

  1. Show Me Light
  2. Coming Home
  3. Music of the Night
  4. Broken Home
  5. Guiding Light
  6. Song of the Human Heart
  7. Constant Angel
  8. Til I Hear You Sing
  9. Eyes of a Child
  10. Inside My World
  11. Everything I Do (I Do It for You)
  12. Cathedrals

  1. Love the sound of this. Hope to win the competition, but if not shall definitely be investing in it.

    Miss Tracy Hanson    Apr 8    #