Follow Us on Twitter

Record Store Day 2013: The Joy Formidable unveil A Minute's Silence

The Joy Formidable, A Minute’s Silence

Story by Jack Foley

THE Joy Formidable will release two new songs as part of this year’s Record Store Day.

A 12” featuring a brand new, previously unheard track, A Minute’s Silence, will be backed by the band’s cover of Bruce Springsteen’s Badlands.

A Minute’s Silence is inspired by Jonathan Franzen’s The Corrections and has led to Ritzy Bryan and the author exchanging views following Ritzy’s declaration of love for the book. Badlands is a live recording taken from a band session for Sirius XM.

Lead singer Ritzy Bryan is happy to be part of the day, saying: “We love buying music and we’ve always valued the atmosphere and experience of browsing a really great record shop. For that reason, it’s a pleasure to be part of the celebration that is Record Store Day, and we’re very excited to share our vinyl release of this brand new track, A Minute’s Silence.”

The 12” will be limited to 500 copies in the UK and available from all participating Record Store Day outlets on Saturday, April 20.

The Joy Formidable are currently on tour in the USA having recently returned to the UK for a string of dates ending in their biggest ever headline London show at the Roundhouse.

The band will return to the UK for festival shows in the summer including already announced sets at Truck, Standon Calling and Boardmasters. Check for all dates.

Listen to A Minute’s Silence:

Next Record Store Day story: Ultraista announce special release