Follow Us on Twitter

Rex The Dog - The Rex The Dog Show

The Rex The Dog Show

Review by Jack Foley

IndieLondon Rating: 3 out of 5

BY THEIR own admission, Rex The Dog makes cool electronic music you can bop to. Best known for remixing the likes of Robyn, Goldfrapp, Soulwax, Depeche Mode and The Knife, they now deliver a fun collection of new and remixed work that’s designed to put the spotlight firmly on them.

And, for the most part, it succeeds in painting quite a cool picture – not least because the artwork that accompanies it (not to mention the videos) are so appealing. Taking the form of a cartoon series, there’s plenty to admire in the carefully considered design work.

Musically, they’re also as cool as their PR suggests. Blip-tastic lead single I Can See You, Can You See Me? is a kitsch, frenzied mix of Beloved-style vocals and off-kilter electronics that eventually wins you over. While there’s a sharp sense of humour to accompany the funkiness of cuts such as Itchy Scratchy.

Tracks like Maximize 2008 have a Euro feel akin to dance acts such as Les Rhythmns Digital and DJ Mehdi, while there’s a cheesy ’80s chart appeal to Gecko, complete with female vocals.

Heartsong, too, emerges as a lush electronic favourite that’s unashamedly romantic and a nice contrast to some of the more silly offerings (Bubblicious anyone?).

But their very best work stems from some of the remixes – more of which I’d have liked to hear on the long-player. Their re-working of The Knife’s Heartbeats (that song covered by Jose Gonzalez) is brilliant, as is their energetic re-tooling of The Sounds’ Tony The Beat.

All in all, then, it’s a fun show that should deservedly win them an even wider fanbase.

Download picks: Bubblicious, Heartsong, Heartbeats, Tony The Beat, Itchy Scratchy

Track listing:

  1. Intro
  2. Maximize 2008
  3. Gecko
  4. Bubblicious
  5. Prototype
  6. Heartsong
  7. Heartbeats – Knife
  8. Circulate
  9. Tony The Beat – Sounds (4)
  10. I Can See You Can You See Me
  11. Itchy Scratchy
  12. Italian Skyline
  13. Frequency
  14. I Look Into Mid Air