Follow Us on Twitter

Rishi Rich - The Project

Rishi Rich, The Project

Review by Jack Foley

IndieLondon Rating: 3.5 out of 5

RISHI Rich is the UK Asian super-producer who shot to fame through his innovative fusion of Asian and urban sounds. The Project is his eagerly anticipated debut album on 2Point9 Records the label that he’s been working with since 2003.

The album includes collaborations with So Solid Crew’s hype man JD, aka Dready, MOBO award winning rapper Sway, and introduces a new line-up of international talent such as Reggaton artist Mr Phillips, French-Canadian R&B vocalist Chhaya, Bajan singer Alison Hines, USA singer Mana from Timbaland’s camp & Norwegian-Pakistani vocalist Rafaqat.

Needless to say, it contains a distinctly Asian vibe courtesy of some of the Bhnagra-style beats and Indian percussion but Rich’s talent lies in his ability to mix it with different genres and lend it a crossover appeal (hence, his ability to appeal to an international community of collaborators).

So while several prominent hip-hop artists (such as 50 Cent) have looked to Eastern influences to augment some of their beats, so Rich looks beyond Asian influences to urban, R’n’B and rap to add some spice to his production work.

The album remains an acquired taste but it does contain a broad appeal for anyone willing to expand their musical horizons a little bit to a global stage.

Tracks like Let’s Start Talking, featuring J2K, Baby Blue and Silinder Pardesi, are as much cut from the urban/grime cloth as they are the Asian marketplace.

While Jay Sean lends his distinctive vocal style to efforts such as Come Here, Push It Up and Stomp.

It’s also fascinating to hear how Rich fuses bhangra, traditional Indian music and urban beats with some surprise choices such as dancehall, reggaeton and soca, alongside lyrics in Punjabi, Hindi, French & English.

So no matter what you may ultimately think of it (depending on your musical taste), The Project is worth participating in, if only to open your eyes to different musical cultures. It may well take you by surprise.

Track listing:

  1. The Project – Intro
  2. Flipmode – Feat. JD
  3. Push It Up – Feat. Jay Sean & Juggy D
  4. Teri Masti – Feat. Josh
  5. Stomp – Feat. JD, Jay Sean & Mr Phillips
  6. Come Here – Feat. Jay Sean
  7. Bhare Bazar – Feat. Master Rakesh
  8. Roll It Gal – Feat. Alison Hinds & Juggy D
  9. Kissum – Interlude
  10. Aj Kal – Feat. Juggy D & Veronica
  11. Majajneh (Too Stoosh) – Feat. Des-C
  12. Sorry – Feat. Rafaquat Ali Khan
  13. Do What You Like – Feat. Juggy D & Chhaya
  14. Jaan – Interlude
  15. Maar Sootiya – Feat. Jassi Sidhu & JD
  16. Let’s Start Talking – Feat. J2K & Baby Blue
  17. Tere Bina – Feat. Veronica
  18. Nobody Has To Know – Interlude
  19. Please Me-Feat. SOL & Aamir Khan