Follow Us on Twitter

Rocco DeLuca - I Trust You To Kill Me

Rocco DeLuca, I Trust You To Kill Me

Review by Jack Foley

IndieLondon Rating: 4 out of 5

ROCCO DeLuca lives and breathes rock ‘n’ roll given that he was born the son of Bo Diddley’s touring guitarist and spent his youth on the road.

His music aspires to the classic songwriting structure of rock ‘n’ roll stalwarts such as Jeff Buckley, Led Zeppelin and Pearl Jam.

Yet it is also distinctive for being built around the beautiful Dobro steel guitar which serves to give his songs a grittier and more notable edge.

Album opener, Gift, is a classic case in point and serves as an excellent appetiser.

It’s a brooding effort that introduces DeLuca’s soft vocal style while slow-building into some almighty guitar solos that provide the Dobro with a tremendous spotlight. The listener should be hooked immediately.

Dope, its follow-up, is an edgy performer, vocally different and featuring some excellent slide guitar. It combines foot-stomping blues with elements of acoustic folk in a way that’s not disimilar to recent Black Rebel Motorcycle Club.

Forthcoming single, Colourful features a husky set of vocals that are bound to go down a storm with Gomez fans, as well as a rousing, jubilant sing-along chorus that’s perfectly suited to the approaching summer sun.

Things slow down a little for the acoustically-led Bus Ride, an effective, low-key showcase of DeLuca’s ability to tell a compelling story within his songwriting.

While the six-string workout of Swing Low provides another welcome change of pace and a pleasing blues-tinged swagger – vocally, DeLuca really does chart classic Robert Plant territory, screaming out anguish in his excellent style.

Elsewhere, Speak To Me seems to have been ripped right out of Pearl Jam’s songbook but is no less pleasing, especially when the guitars kick in properly.

Gravitate is a fast-moving foot-stomper constructed around some rousing drums and more screeching guitars, as well as an epic chorus.

And the country-tinged Mystified shows that DeLuca can drop in a fine ballad or two without feeling the need to become overly sentimental – the song kicks off with the lyrics ‘I get dragged by my hands, I don’t want this to end’.

With two excellent bonus tracks in the form of Dillon and Daybreaker to draw the album to a close, I Trust You To Kill Me marks a really excellent introduction to Rocco DeLuca.

What’s more, to coincide with the release of the album, DeLuca will be the subject of a Sky One road movie featuring Rocco and his band, The Burden, a sound engineer and a certain Kiefer Sutherland (chipping in as the band’s roadie, having served as the main producer of the album). It follows their progress on a small European tour over the Christmas period.

Make sure you catch the album, though. It’s one for the rock purists and looks certain to place Rocco comfortably among the peers he has so obviously been inspired by.

Find out more about Rocco DeLuca

Track listing:

  1. Gift
  2. Dope
  3. Colorful
  4. Bus Ride
  5. Swing Low
  6. Speak To Me
  7. How Fast
  8. Gravitate
  9. Mystified
  10. Draw
  11. Soul
  12. Favor
  13. Dillon
  14. Daybreaker

  1. Good review. Rocco is great. Did you catch the excellent Sky One documentary with Kiefer Sutherland? With Jack Bauer behind him, surely DeLuca can’t fail…

    Tom    May 9    #
  2. Only saw a few bits of the programme, but the second I saw the band on stage and he started playing the Dobro with a slide, I knew I had to get the album!

    Awesome! Best tracks are Gift, Dope and Gravitate.

    Mark Cuesta Acevedo    May 13    #
  3. Where’s the track I TRUST YOU TO KILL ME??

    On the SKY One Doc. Rocco is singing the song on stage but it's not on the CD – what gives??

    colin naraine    May 15    #
  4. Exactly what gives? I thought that track [I Trust You To Kill Me] was cool but its not here. Does anyone know how to get hold of it? Is it going to be a single?

    gary bleach    May 20    #
  5. The track is gonna be a b side to the single. I emailed the guys through my space.

    gary bleach    May 20    #