Follow Us on Twitter

RocknRolla OST - Review

RocknRolla OST

Review by Jack Foley

IndieLondon Rating: 3.5 out of 5

SAY what you will about Guy Ritchie’s films post-Lock Stock and Snatch but he’s still able to put together a pretty decent soundtrack.

RocknRolla, his latest, has once again been compiled by Ritchie’s preferred music supervisor Ian Neil, and contains a selection of brash rock/indie tracks that reflect the themes of the movie.

The film itself finds millions of dollars up for grabs when a Russian mobster orchestrates a crooked land deal and all of London’s criminal underworld wants in on the action. Everyone from a dangerous crime lord to a sexy accountant, a corrupt politician and down-on-their-luck petty thieves conspire, collude and collide with one another in an effort to get rich quick.

As with Ritchie’s previous excursions into London’s criminal underworld, the soundtrack features an intriguing mix of the familiar and new discoveries, cutting edge and retro, powerful and humorous… all interspersed with some choice snippets of dialogue from the film.

Of the classic cuts (and album highlights), The Clash’s Bank Robber stands out as a classic slice of London punk, while The Beat’s Mirror In The Bathroom is the type of catchy number that never fails to get you singing along with it.

Strong, too, is Wanda Jackson’s Funnel of Love, a retro slice of funk that really sets a party vibe, while Lou Reed’s The Gun adds an element of class and cool.

New songs worth listening out to come from the likes of Black Strobe’s I’m A Man, which is all husky, brash attitude and swagger; The Subways’ down and dirty Rock & Roll Queen and The Hives’ explosive The Stomp.

There are the odd choices that don’t cut it, such as The Scientists’ We Had Love, but in the main this is a diverse collection of tracks that makes for an excellent compilation album in its own right, whether or not you’ve seen the film.

Ritchie fans will love it, though, singing and nodding along while hailing his latest film as a return to form after the disappointments of Swept Away and Revolver.

Download picks: Bank Robber, Have Love Will Travel, Rock & Roll Queen, The Stomp, Mirror In The Bathroom, Funnel of Love, Negra Leono

Track listing:

  1. I’m A Man – Blackstrobe
  2. Have Love Will Travel – Sonics
  3. Bankrobber – Clash
  4. Trip – Kim Fowley
  5. Ruskies – Steve Isles
  6. Outlaw – War
  7. Waiting For A Train – Flash & The Pan
  8. Rock ‘n’ Roll Queen – Subways (The)
  9. Gun – Lou Reed
  10. Stomp – Hives
  11. We Had Love – Scientists
  12. Mirror In The Bathroom – Beat
  13. Funnel Of Love – Wanda Jackson
  14. Such A Fool – 22-20s
  15. Dopilsya – Ex Sektor Gaza
  16. Negra Leono – Miguelito Valdes