Follow Us on Twitter

Rodrigo Y Gabriela announce new album 9 Dead Alive and Albert Hall gigs

Rodrigo Y Gabriela

Story by Jack Foley

ACOUSTIC rock maestros Rodrigo y Gabriela return with their new album, 9 Dead Alive.

The album was recorded and produced by Rod & Gab at their studio in Ixtapa, Mexico. Mixing was handled by Andrew Scheps (Black Sabbath, Adele, Metallica, Lana Del Rey) in Los Angeles. It will be released on April 28, 2014.

9 Dead Alive sees Rodrigo y Gabriela playing face to face, guitar versus guitar, bursting with melodic energy and rhythmic invention. Recorded at their Pacific Coast hideaway in late summer, the album captures the warmth and spontaneity of two great musicians riffing and jamming together.

Each of the songs on the album is a personal celebration of individuals who have passed on, but through their deeds and words still resonate in the 21st century.

Going as far back as Eleanor of Acquitaine (1122 – 1204) to Viktor Frankl (1905 – 1997), and including a tribute to one of Rod & Gab’s enduring touchstones – animals and nature. This diverse and fascinating list will strike a chord with anyone familiar with the duo’s passion for human rights, literature, history and philosophy.

Rodrigo y Gabriela’s last album of all new music was 2009’s 11:11.

Since then they have collaborated on the soundtracks to both Pirates Of The Caribbean: On Stranger Shores and Puss N’ Boots and visited Havana to record the Area 52 album with a Cuban orchestra.

They have continued to tour the world, playing sell out shows last year at the Hollywood Bowl and Red Rocks, Colorado.

Rodrigo y Gabriela return to the UK in May (20 & 21) for two shows at the Royal Albert Hall, the first night of which sold out within just a few days.

Track listing:

  1. The Soundmaker (Antonio de Torres Jurado: 1817 – 1892)
  2. Torito (animals and nature)
  3. Sunday Neurosis (Viktor Frankl: 1905 – 1997)
  4. Misty Moses (Harriet Tubman: 1820 – 1913)
  5. Somnium (Sor Juana Ines de la Cruz: 1651 – 1695)
  6. Fram (Fridtjof Nansen: 1861 – 1930)
  7. Megalopolis (Gabriela Mistral: 1889 – 1957)
  8. The Russian Messenger (Fyodor Dostoyevsky: 1821 – 1881)
  9. La Salle Des Pas Perdus (Eleanor of Acquitane: 11-22 – 1204)

Watch the album trailer