Follow Us on Twitter

Rodrigo Y Gabriela announce new LP and UK tour dates

Rodrigo Y Gabriela

Story by Jack Foley

RODRIGO Y Gabriela will release their new studio album, entitled 11:11, on Monday, September 7, 2009 – and have announced UK tour dates to celebrate.

11:11 was recorded in Ixtapa, Mexico, and has been produced by Rodrigo y Gabriela, with John Leckie co-producing two of the tracks. It was mixed in Wales and London by Colin Richardson, best known for his work with Slipknot and Trivium.

To celebrate, Rodrigo y Gabriela will be bringing their inimitable live show to the following venues in the coming months:

June 2009
28 – Summerfest, Milwaukee, USA

4 – Rock Werchter Festival, Belgium
5 – Eurockeennes deBelfort, Malsaucy, France
9 – Strand, Stockholm, Sweden
11 – KB, Malmo, Sweden
15 – Festival Les Suds, Arles, France
17 – Gent Jazz Festival, Ghent, Belgium
19 – Lovebox Festival, London
21 – Blue Balls Festival, Lucerne, Switzerland
23 – Paleo Festival, Nyon, Switzerland
25 – Secret Garden Party, Cambridge, UK
28 – Dolans Warehouse, Limerick
29 – CIT School Of Music, Cork

1 – Festival du Bout du Monde, Crozen, France

2 – Koko, London, UK
4 – Electric Picnic, Laois, Ireland
7 – Postbahnhof, Berlin, Germany
9 – Cigale, Paris, France

Comprising 11 new self-written compositions, 11:11 is Rod & Gab’s personal “Gracias” to a first 11 of musicians, both past and present, who have inspired them along the way.

Alex Skolnick of metal gods Testament guests on the album, as do widely respected acoustic veterans Strunz & Farah.

11:11 marks the long awaited follow up to 2006’s Rodrigo y Gabriela, which has so far enjoyed worldwide sales in excess of half a million albums.

The album tracklisting is as follows…*

  1. Hanuman
  2. Buster Voodoo
  3. Triveni
  4. Logos
  5. Santo Domingo
  6. Master Maqui (with guests Strunz & Farah)
  7. Savitri
  8. Hora Zero
  9. Chac Mool
  10. Atman (with guest Alex Skolnick)
  11. 11:11

Initial copies of the album will come with a bonus DVD, featuring track tutorials, interviews and exclusive live performance footage.

North American dates and further European shows will be announced shortly.