Follow Us on Twitter

Rolling Stones - Shine A Light (OST)

Shine A Light

Review by Jack Foley

IndieLondon Rating: 4 out of 5

IT WAS almost inevitable that the Rolling Stones would put out an album to coincide with the release of their new film, Shine A Light. And you could pretty much guess that it would feature the very same concert footage depicted by Martin Scorsese’s cameras. But that shouldn’t put you off.

Whether you’ve seen the film or not, intend to or don’t, the soundtrack does offer value for money largely because the set list for the film was deliberately varied. The classics appear, of course, such as Jumpin’ Jack Flash, Sympathy For The Devil and Satisfaction. But there are some rare classics to savour, not to mention some mighty fine collaborations that sound just as great in soundtrack form, as they do in vision.

For those that don’t know, Shine A Light is a concert film by Martin Scorsese that seeks to capture a moment in time, as well as pay tribute to the ongoing brilliance of the Rolling Stones in live form. The film opens with some brief behind-the-scenes footage of how the project came together and is broken up with archive footage featuring rare interviews of the Stones at various stages in their career. But the main bulk of proceedings is focused upon capturing them live and, in all, there are 22 tracks recorded during two memorable nights at New York’s Beacon Theatre in 2006.

The album that results is produced by The Glimmer Twins and mixed by Bob Clearmountain, and features Mick Jagger, Keith Richards, Charlie Watts and Ronnie Wood with their long-standing backline, including bassist Darryl Jones, keyboardist Chuck Leavell, saxophonist Bobby Keys, backing vocalists Lisa Fischer, Blondie Chaplin and Bernard Fowler, and a horn section comprised of Tim Ries, Michael Davies and Kent Smith.

The result is a blast and a glorious celebration of all things Rolling Stones, whether it’s their timeless classics, or some rare gems that have been dusted off and re-delivered in typically brilliant fashion. Champagne And Reefer, for example, is a brilliant slice of blues-rock that features some dazzling extra guitar work from guest Buddy Guy. It’s a definite highlight, and not a track you’ll hear that often.

Jack White duets with Jagger on the rousing Loving Cup, while Christina Aguilera brings sex appeal and sassiness to Live With Me.

Keep an ear out, too, for excellent live versions of She Was Hot, delivered with genuine gusto, Just My Imagination and Faraway Eyes.

Keith Richards’ rendition of You Got The Silver may be the one lowpoint, but it’s an indulgence that’s afforded to him in every live set, so I guess it’s only fair – and live connoisseurs of the Stones certainly won’t mind. They applaud him just as enthusiastically whenever he takes centre stage, such as his cult appeal.

The classic Rolling Stones’ signature tunes are, of course, delivered with all the relish and brilliance that has helped to ensure their survival, and explain why they can continue to sell out concert venues around the world whenever they announce a new tour. So, even if some selections could be deemed “obscure”, there’s always another well-known favourite waiting in the wings, with Sympathy For The Devil, Start Me Up and Paint It Black emerging as my own personal favourites from this live set.

The only surprise, really, is that tracks like Street Fighting Man and Gimme Shelter – which appear prominently on Scorsese’s film soundtracks – weren’t included in the selections. But then I guess you can’t always get what you want, and perhaps I’m just being greedy. In all other regards, this is a joyful celebration of all things Rolling Stones and proof positive of why their live shows are such a must-see.

Here tracks now…

Shattered live at Beacon Theatre

Some Girls live at Beacon Theatre

View photos from Shine A Light

Download picks: Champagne & Reefer, She Was Hot, Some Girls, Loving Cup, Just My Imagination, Start Me Up, Sympathy For The Devil, Paint It Black, Live With Me

Track listing:
Disc 1

  1. Jumping Jack Flash
  2. Shattered
  3. She Was Hot
  4. All Down The Line
  5. Loving Cup
  6. As Tears Go By
  7. Some Girls
  8. Just My Imagination
  9. Faraway Eyes
  10. Champagne & Reefer
  11. Tumbling Dice
  12. Band Introductions
  13. You Got The Silver
  14. Connection

Disc: 2

  1. Sympathy For The Devil
  2. Live With Me
  3. Start Me Up
  4. Brown Sugar
  5. (I Can’t Get No) Satisfaction
  6. Paint It Black
  7. Little T&A
  8. I’m Free
  9. Shine A Light