Follow Us on Twitter

Savaging Spires - Savaging Spires

Savaging Spires

Review by Jack Foley

IndieLondon Rating: 1.5 out of 5

SAVAGING Spires eponymous debut LP has been described as a cult classic in the making by virtue of its mix of pastoral psych and folk compositionss.

Broadly split between stand-alone songs and sound-collaging passages, the ensemble glide their way through the pagan eeriness of The Wicker Man soundtrack, Espers’ druggy bucolic edginess, the underrated invention of Tyrannosaurus Rex’s Unicorn and the affectionate irreverence of Can’s Ethnological Forgery Series pieces.

En route, there’s boy-girl vocal interlacing and embellish the instrumentation with strings here and whistles there.

But in truth what results is a patience testing slog, with most songs barely conforming to any recognisable structure. When they do, there’s a repetition in the vocals that tend to become grating.

When they sing “what is it you’re looking for?” over and over again over final track Seconds in Motion, you tend to want to shout back “the end”.

But such is the length and challenging nature of their material that even during the rare decent moments, such as Blackbirds or album opener Bending The Rules of Time (which eventually gives rise to some pleasing boy-girl harmonising), it’s not enough to make you want to revisit the songs or dip your toe back into the murky waters that the remainder of the album represents.

We had hope for this one… but it continually disappointed.

Download pick: Blackbirds

Track listing:

  1. Bending The Rules of Time
  2. When The Devil Says He’s Dead
  3. Trust
  4. October
  5. Photographic Memory
  6. Apostrophe Lake
  7. Messenger
  8. Blackbirds
  9. Cemetery Lounge
  10. Crows
  11. Sisters
  12. Seconds in Motion

  1. first bad review. It had to happen. Thanks Jack.

    Savaging Spires    Nov 21    #