Follow Us on Twitter

Scissor Sisters - Ta-Dah

Scissor Sisters, Ta Dah

Review by Jack Foley

IndieLondon Rating: 4 out of 5

THE joyful, often camp exuberance of New York’s Scissor Sisters continues to cut a sharp sense of style on their sophomore album Ta-Dah.

The long-player already looks set to be among the year’s hottest sellers (based on first day sales and pre-orders) but it’s a deserved achievement for one of contemporary pops bravest and most stylish acts.

Spearheaded by the 70s disco classic I Don’t Feel Like Dancing complete with Elton John on piano duties, Ta-Dah is a feelgood romp through trademark Scissor Sisters references that does exactly what fans will have been anticipating.

Although lyrically darker than their eponymous debut and not quite so hedonistic, the album is guaranteed to get those hips swinging, while putting flared trousers, extra eye make-up and frilly shirts back in disco fashion.

Jake Shears, Ana Matronic and co ensure that the party atmosphere is maintained throughout and only occasionally drop in a quieter, less camp moment.

For the most part, however, the lyrics are as falsetto-laden as the Bee Gees in their prime and the funky disco beats are hip enough to have all those John Travolta wannabes dusting off their white outfits.

Highlights include the old-skool romp that is Lights, a genuine party-pleaser that out Bee Gees the Gibb brothers, and She’s My Man, which recalls the tale of a fabled female New Orleans river pirate in suitably sassy style.

Land Of A Thousand Words changes pace nicely to pay clever homage to the themes from the James Bond films in a style befitting Yellow Brick Road-era Elton John, with a little Wings thrown in. The layered vocal harmonies that bring the track to a close are very stylish, while the production values take on a cinematic sweep worthy of 007’s romantic interludes.

Only the Vaudeville-style Intermission strikes a dodgy note but while it’s not entirely successful, it continues to provide proof of the band’s ability to diversify and willingness to experiment.

Much more memorable are tracks such as the glam-rock romp that is Kiss You Off featuring a deliciously sassy set of vocals from Ana Matronic, the disco strut that is Ooh and the statement of intent that is Everybody Wants The Same Thing, a gutsy lament about the state of the world and people’s willingness to conform to safe mediocrity.

My personal favourites, however, are the smooth, sultry Other Side, a piano-laced mid-tempo offering that really drips with Scissor Sisters class, and Might Tell You Tonight, a love song that proves that not all ballads have to be overly sentimental and straight-laced.

Being in love is fun and playing this to your lover might make the subsequent evening so.

Ta-Dah is therefore a worthy successor to Scissor Sisters that looks destined to remain one of the sharpest and most essential releases of the year.

Track listing:

  1. I Don’t Feel Like Dancin’
  2. She’s My Man
  3. I Can’t Decide
  4. Lights
  5. Land Of A Thousand Words
  6. Intermission
  7. Kiss You Off
  8. Ooh
  9. Paul McCartney
  10. Other Side
  11. Might Tell You Tonight
  12. Everybody Wants The Same Thing
  13. Transistor