Follow Us on Twitter

Scissors For Lefty - Underhanded Romance

Scissors For Lefty, Underhanded Romance

Review by Liam Kapota

IndieLondon Rating: 4 out of 5

SO, which band where named one of NME’s “Ones To Watch” at Reading/Leeds last summer? Which band has supported The Arctic Monkeys, Paul Weller and Dirty Pretty Things? And which band sold out on their first London shows WITHOUT releasing a single track?

Scissors For Lefty have arrived.

If you haven’t heard of them yet then firstly, how have you not heard of these guys and their phenomenal sound? And secondly, hold on to your knickers because Bryan, the band’s lead vocalist and guitarist, told me he’d be quite flattered for us to review their antics. Hopefully, when they do return, I will indeed review one of their energetic and provocative live performances.

When SFLs frantic summer ended in 2006, they decided it was time to release their highly-anticipated debut album Underhanded Romance, on October 2.

The result is a collection of catchy pop hooks, quirky beats and a sound that I haven’t heard for a long time.

The guys released two singles – Ghetto Ways and Mama Your Boys Will Find A Home – ahead of the album, and the latter is already an underground dance hit in London’s clubs.

In the short time SFL were in the UK, they gathered themselves a continually growing fanbase that have surely waited for this debut album for way too long. But it was worth the wait.

On first listening, I could have been fooled this was a Tapes ‘n’ Tapes album, but the more I listened the more I realised these guys are just (and don’t get me wrong, I really like Tapes ‘n’ Tapes) so much better!

I also found it extremely hard to pick just a few tracks that stand out. But after some long thought, I’ve decided… if you don’t have time to listen to the whole album, then make time!

Yes, some tracks are slightly better than the rest but an album like this needs to be listened to in its entirety to really get a feel for what is an amazing sound.

Saying that, X’s Are Forever, Save It Cory and Bring Us A Brick all have that little something that makes me want to press repeat, a million times!

Track listing:

  1. Nickels And Dimes
  2. Next To Argyle
  3. Lay Down Your Weapons
  4. Ghetto Ways
  5. Xs Are Forever
  6. Wandering Arms
  7. Save It Cory
  8. Marsha
  9. Got Your Moments
  10. Mama Your Boys Will Find A Home
  11. Bring Us A Brick