Follow Us on Twitter

Sex & The City 2: OST - Review

Sex & The City 2, OST

Review by Jack Foley

IndieLondon Rating: 4 out of 5

A FILM as big, sexy and stylish as Sex & The City demands a soundtrack to match it – and that’s exactly what this compilation provides.

A fun, sultry, smooth and carefully selected collection of songs that reflect the film’s themes and locations (New York and the Middle East), it boasts original music from Grammy and Academy Award® winner Jennifer Hudson, duetting with Leona Lewis, as well as new tracks from the platinum-selling Cee-Lo, Dido and Liza Minnelli.

Boys anticipating a woman only listen might also be surprised at just how many tracks appeal… as there’s a very hip, dinner party kind of vibe associated with the music that reflects contemporary sounds, as well as something more befitting the New York crooners of old.

It does have its chick-only moments, of course, but this one plays well to all… even if you can’t brave the movie!

Highlights come in the form of Alicia Keys’ surprisingly effective new version of the Blondie classic Rapture, which weaves in the Sex & The City signature soundtrack, and Dido’s Everything to Lose, which recovers from a typically moody, serene opening to offer slick dancefloor appeal.

Cee-Lo, meanwhile, drops his superb soul vocals over a track that’s also rich in Middle Eastern influence, offering a song that’s both radio-friendly and cinematic in scope.

There’s more low-key sultry soul from Erykah Badu’s Window Seat, as well as a real retro blast of fun provided by Cyndi Lauper’s seemingly timeless True Colours.

Of the more brazenly fun material, Grammy, Emmy, Golden Globe, Tony and Academy Award® winner Liza Minnelli covers Beyonce’s chart-topping Single Ladies (Put A Ring On It) and succeeds in putting a hip new slant on things. It seems it’s not just the Glee cast that can give an old song a new lease of life!

Alicia Keys, on the other hand, strips back the beats and hip-hop elements that made her Jay-Z collaboration so vibrant, in favour of some sultry vocals and smooth piano chords for the romantic Empire State of Mind (Part II) Broken Down. You may miss the original, given that it kickstarts the trailer campaign, but this is every bit as good in its own way.

I could have done without ever hearing a duet between Jennifer Hudson and Leona Lewis, or an all-girl karaoke moment between Sarah Jessica Parker, Kim Cattrall, Cynthia Nixon and Kristin Davis on I Am Woman, but this soundtrack continues to surprise with some classic crooner moments of songs like Til There Was You and If Ever I Would Leave You from the Sex And The City Men’s Choir.

All in all, then, this is a very surprising treat, whether you see the movie or not!

Download picks: Everything To Lose, Language of Love, Eupharates Dream, Single Ladies (Put A Ring On It), Empire State of Mind (Part II) Broken Down, True Colours, Window Seat

Track listing:

  1. Alicia Keys – Rapture
  2. Dido – Everything to Lose
  3. Cee-Lo – Language of Love
  4. Erykah Badu – Window Seat
  5. Natacha Atlas – Kidda
  6. Michael McGregor – Euphrates Dream
  7. Liza Minnelli – Single Ladies (Put A Ring On It)
  8. Ricki-Lee – Can’t Touch It
  9. Alicia Keys – Empire State of Mind (Part II) Broken Down
  10. Jennifer Hudson and Leona Lewis – Love Is Your Color
  11. Sarah Jessica Parker, Kim Cattrall, Kristin Davis, Cynthia Nixon – I Am Woman
  12. Sex and the City Men’s Choir – If Ever I Would Leave You
  13. Sex and the City Men’s Choir – Sunrise, Sunset
  14. Sex and the City Men’s Choir – Till There Was You
  15. Shayna Steele, Jordan Ballard, Kamilah Marshall – Bewitched, Bothered and Bewildered
  16. Liza Minnelli with Billy Stritch – Ev’ry Time We Say Goodbye
  17. Cyndi Lauper – True Colours
  18. Aaron Zigman – Divas and Dunes