Follow Us on Twitter

Shed Seven announce reunion tour

Shed Seven

Story by Jack Foley

SHED Seven – the Britpop legends behind hits Disco Down and Going For Gold – are to reform for a one-off Greatest Hits tour this winter.

The band, who parted ways in 2003, will hit the road in November for a total of 14 dates, culminating at London’s Shepherd’s Bush Empire.

The line-up will comprise original band members Rick Witter, Joe Johnson, Alan Leach and Tom Gladwin, as well as guitarist Paul Banks, who originally quit in 1999.

Shed Seven scored 15 Top 40 hits between 1994 and 2003 and remain one of the best-loved bands of the Britpop era.

Commenting on the decision to reform, frontman Rick Witter said: “We’ve almost constantly been asked by the loyal Shed heads to reform for a few gigs since the split, but we felt we needed a well earned break.

“However, after four years we feel that going out for a two-week tour, playing all the hits without any outside pressure will be a great way to end 2007, plus having Paul back in the line-up for the first time in eight years will make it extra special.”

The dates are…

27 – Aberdeen Music Hall
28 – Inverness Ironworks
29 – Glasgow Barrowlands

1 – Newcastle Academy
2 – Liverpool Academy
3 – Nottingham Rock City
4 – Sheffield Leadmill
6 – Birmingham Academy
7 – Manchester Academy
8 – Leeds Met Uni
10 – Norwich UEA
11 – Oxford Academy
12 – Portsmouth Pyramid
14 – London Shepherd’s Bush Empire

Tickets go on sale from Monday, July 16 at 9am.