Follow Us on Twitter

Shy Child - Noise Won't Stop

Shy Child, Noise Won't Stop

Review by Jack Foley

IndieLondon Rating: 2 out of 5

SHY Child are Nate Smith and Pete Cafarella, a dance duo who met at Wesleyan University, Connecticut, in the mid-‘90s. Their aim is to fuse Jamaican dancehall and Timbaland beat quirks with punk energy and overdriven analogue joy.

Nate plays drums and Pete sings and play ‘keytar’. The result is certainly distinct and different from the mainstream dance norm. But it’s not necessarily good.

Like its name suggests, the album is relentless, loud and totally in your face (or ear-drums!). It begins well with the emphatic electro-punk opener Drop The Phone but it quickly reveals itself to be a bit of a one trick pony.

Pressure To Come follows a very similar path to the opener, with the odd siren thrown in, while Kick Drum marries warped electronics with handclap beats and increasingly strained vocals. It’s slightly different in that it’s more deliberate than the head rush opening combo – but signs of weariness are setting in and it’s not a good sign.

The Volume takes its cue from the current ’80s revival that shows no sign of wearing out in the States, while Good And Evil and Noise Won’t Stop are just pounding and relentless, drawing on the worse that dancehall has to offer.

Just occasionally, the album offers a stand-alone that grabs the attention. The boy-girl vocal trade off that enlivens Generation Y (We Got It) is a fine dance track that is actually quite fun, while What’s It Feel Like? offers a rare moment of pause that catches you off guard with its offbeat beauty.

But on the whole this is a relentless and often headache inducing collection of bleaps and dancehall beats that eventually wears you down.

Download picks: Generation Y (We Got It), What’s It Feel Like?, Drop The Phone

Track listing:

  1. Drop The Phone
  2. Pressure To Come
  3. Kick Drum
  4. The Volume
  5. Generation Y (We Got It)
  6. Astronaut
  7. Good And Evil
  8. Noise Won’t Stop
  9. Summer
  10. What’s It Feel Like?
  11. Cause And Effect